Stabilo ‘s Move Easy Left Handed Pen

28 09 2011

Ergonomic grips: the fastest way to make your handwriting look as terrible as possible

This pen dates from way back when in 2008, before I’d even heard of JetPens. I was studying abroad in Venice, and discovered the office supply wonders of the nearest Testolini. That’s where I first saw this:

THIS BASTION OF COOLNESS

in multiple colors, but all were right-handed models. I was not confident enough to hazard my own translation to ask “Do you have the left handed model of this pen? Could you order it for me?”, preferring instead to drown my sorrows in wine and to visit Testolini often, in the hopes that the pen fairy would see fit to take pity on my situation.

Things the pen fairy did not do: exist; take pity on my situation.

It wasn’t until over a month later that I finally found the left-handed model I wanted in some office supply shop in Paris.  Was I delighted? I was so delighted, I didn’t even know what language to use to say thank you. Or maybe that wasn’t delight; maybe that was wine…

Strangely not hypermagnetized to attract debris

I can say that even after almost 3 years, this pen still looks pretty good. It has withstood abuse well. It feels great to hold, curves in all the right places. Of course, I apparently grip my pens in the most ergonomically unsound way possible, so holding the pen and writing with it aren’t precisely the same story, but I think that’s more a function of me than the pen.

Another pen cap that makes me think of a squid

My biggest unfounded concern with this pen was the cap. I figured there would be no way this thing would still be with me after any appreciable length of time. But there it is before your very computer screens. I appreciate the consideration Stabilo put into the cap. It pushes on and/or screws on to close, unscrews to open, and snaps firmly onto the end to post. Doesn’t pull off when it’s shut, doesn’t unscrew by itself, and despite my best efforts, cannot be accidentally knocked off the end when posted.

Place for your name, again in this magical fantasy world where all the children have cool pens

And can we just stop for a moment and admire this minimalist design? It may be a child’s pen, but (at least with this color scheme) it’s far from childish.

Mine came with 3 ink refills, and probably more than one nameplate sticker and laminate sticker cover in case I screwed my name up

In spite of my ergonomic-defying gripping tendencies, I still enjoy writing with this pen, even if my handwriting doesn’t look as good because my mastery of the “ideal” pliers grip is on par with a first grader. There is a kind of velvety smoothness to this rollerball—tactile, smooth but not buttery smooth, deliberate but not in a way that feels like I’m getting resistance. It writes well and consistently from almost every angle, except when I attempt a very unnatural-feeling 90-degree perpendicular approach to the page (at that angle, the ink is thinner, lighter, and there is resistance).

Gimmicky? No, gimmexcellent.

The good news: I like this pen. The bad news: one, I don’t think this particular model is sold anymore? It has been slightly redesigned, with an aesthetically-challenged  snub-nosed cap. Two: I have no recollection of how much this pen cost, especially since I bought it in another currency, at a time when I was pretending that the euro and the dollar were equivalent (because otherwise, I wouldn’t have spent any money at all, because I would have thought everything to be far too expensive). Three: I don’t know a good site to link to for you to buy this pen! Here‘s the current iteration of this pen at Stabilo’s website, but if any of you reading this know of / are a site selling this pen, let me know and I’ll add a link!


Actions

Information

6 responses

28 09 2011
fousheezy

The current iteration’s cap makes it look like a lady finger. I prefer the squid look.

4 10 2011
No Pen Intended

Squids are appropriate for pens. Squids make ink, pens use ink, let’s just cut out the middleman and use squids. I mean, have pens reminiscent of squids.

30 09 2011
A Few Random Morning Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

[…] Stabilo ‘s Move Easy Left Handed Pen […]

3 10 2011
Monday Grab Bag of Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

[…] Tactical Pen – Sanitized Full Length Version Mont Blanc Tribute to the Mont Blanc Special Edition Stabilo ‘s Move Easy Left Handed Pen Moleskine Pens: Simple, Sophisticated and Sleek Doodles, Moleskine and A Cherry Link Gourmet Pens: […]

4 10 2011
October Carnival of Pen, Pencil and Paper « Journaling Arts

[…] No Pen Intended breaks down Stabilo’s Move Easy Left Handed Fountain Pen. […]

3 06 2021
KellyAnne Kelly

I believe the 2021 version of these which vary in price like crazy can be found about anywhere and of course Amazon and is called the Stablio Easy Original or Easy Start Original. I like the idea of just going with squid exclusively though but I have no idea where I would possibly find a squid unless I was at a restaurant…oh my

Leave a comment