The Pen Rest

3 09 2015
Shiny

Shiny

The Pen Rest failed to meet its first funding goal, but creator David Frieslander was undaunted, worked it out with his manufacturer, and got them to make the adjustments necessary to relaunch The Pen Rest with a lower goal, equal to the previous number of backers, so that if everyone just re-pledged, The Pen Rest would make its goal. And it worked! There was a lot (a LOT) of communication to backers over the whole course of the project, and my unit made it to me by the estimated delivery (it was estimated to ship in June, and I had mine by June 18th). I was quite pleased with the packaging—very sharp looking, and the flap contains a little magnet that snaps shut with a most satisfying little noise. The top came wrapped in its own little box inside the main box (the easier to swap in different colored tops, no doubt), and everything arrived in working order.

Heavy metal

Heavy metal

The only part of the packaging that wasn’t exactly according to the original plan is the bit of non-slip material you see in the foreground. The original stretch goal plan was to have a thin, clear rubber piece made to fit the sill and help protect pens/make the sill more non-slip, but that just wasn’t to be this time around. The bit of non-slip material included here is effective, if a bit inelegant. Eventually, a custom rubber overlay for the sill will be the way to go.

I only backed for one of The Pen Rest, because I've backed too many things this year and eventually have to eat more than ramen and Sam's Club Saturday samples

I only backed for one of The Pen Rest, because I’ve backed too many things this year and eventually have to eat more than ramen and Sam’s Club Saturday samples

The top slides on nicely. The whole body of the thing is smooth, especially the curves. Touch them. Let passersby give you strange looks.

Fun fact: any time a Kickstarter includes product dimensions I do not absorb nor visualize those dimensions in any meaningful way

Fun fact: any time a Kickstarter includes product dimensions I do not absorb nor visualize those dimensions in any meaningful way

When I first put The Pen Rest together, two things came to mind. One: this thing is surprisingly heavy. Two: this seems a bit smaller than I imagined. It didn’t help, however, that the first pen I put on it was the titanium Nexus, which ended up being a lot bigger than I imagined.

The solution is to put a pen on it

The solution is to put a pen on it

Once I started putting other pens on it, everything looked okay.

Also put some J. Herbin Emerald of Chivors on it

Also put some J. Herbin Emerald of Chivors on it

The Pen Rest satisfies on all counts. It’s weighty, well made, and looks good holding my pens up. I hate I missed out on the Midnight Blue and Oxford Blue Kickstarter run (perhaps they’ll be available again?) … once I’ve got sufficient funds laying around, I’d like to pick up a couple more of these and play around with how well they stack.

The Pen Rest by David Frieslander now available at The Pen Rest shop

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 09 2015
memm

I started using my two (see http://bleistift.memm.de/?p=4351 ) for a pen and a little knife (to open letters, parcels) – very handy.

7 09 2015
Duan Yutong

What is the clear pen you put on the rest as shown in one of the photos?

Leave a Reply

