SmudgeGuard

3 03 2015

I first learned about the SmudgeGuard as we left-handers learn about all things critical to our sinister existence—telepathically (at least, I can’t remember how else I came to know about it, so telepathy is the most likely explanation). At some point (probably after smearing several paragraphs of PROBABLY Diamine ink), my need reached critical mass, and I reached out to the SmudgeGuard creator to turn my green dollars into a stretchy black hand covering. (Disclosure: I did receive a blogger discount when purchasing this product).

I gotta hand it to 'em, this thing is a great idea

I gotta hand it to ’em, this thing is a great idea

I went as classic as possible, a one-finger SmudgeGuard in black. After discussing my hand measurements with the creator, I went with the medium size.

The packaging does not lie

The packaging does not lie

It feels comfortable and looks about as unusual as you’d expect. You will be asked what the heck is on your hand. Tell people you have a rare condition that makes just your pinkie allergic to all forms of light.

It matches my notebook

It matches my notebook

It’s unobtrusive enough that I can easily switch between writing by hand and using the computer (especially relevant at work), without having to remove the SmudgeGuard. And it’s worked well so far, especially with sweaty hands (which, combined with fountain pens is typically a recipe for an ink-stained disaster). Now, if you’ve got wet ink on the page like standing water, there’s a very good chance that will still get smudged. It’s not the SmudgeAnnihilator, nor is it equipped with fabric that can bend the rules of time and space. It appears to be well made (time will tell how much abuse it can take). My only complaint is that the finger is just a bit too long for my hand—a situation I’ll probably take to my sewing-inclined relatives to help rectify. Most important to me, however, is that it so far has been preventing one of my biggest pet peeves (when the moisture content of the side of my hand causes already dried ink to be picked up, smudged by my hand, redistributed on the page, on my skin, etc. It drives me nuts). As long as I remember to bring my SmudgeGuard with me, I don’t have to have that problem.

Low profile tag, with no irritating tag bits inside

Low profile tag, with no irritating tag bits inside. Works for right-handed people too, by the way

Most of the testemonials on the SmudgeGuard website are from Wacom/tablet users/digital artists. Now you can add the leftie fountain-pen user endorsement to the list.

SmudgeGuard

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2015
Link Love: The One Without a Pun | The Well-Appointed Desk

[…] Smudgeguard (via No Pen Intended) […]

7 11 2015
model tas 2015

I’m truly taking pleasure in the design and layout of your site.
It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a
developer to create your theme? Great work!

Leave a Reply

