Tombow AirPress Pen – White (Review & Giveaway)

27 11 2014
Lacking a portable scanner with me at this time, I'm having to make do with photographing the writing sample instead

Lacking a portable scanner with me at this time, I’m having to make do with photographing the writing sample instead

I don’t know if stormtroopers took over Tombow or if the staff there are just being remotely brain-controlled from the Death Star, but I too was contacted to receive and give away a white-and-black version of the Tombow AirPress Pen. Thanks to Tombow for providing these pens!

It also matches my car. I should give more rides to stormtroopers carrying these pens for the ultimate matching experience. More matching than a deathcage match even.

I’ve had some exposure to the AirPress before, evaluating it as a potential motorcycling pen, but I forgot to get around to actually reviewing it. And I have reviewed the similar AirPress Apro ballpoint pen. As I’ve noted before, I like the lightweight, compact body and the grippability of it—both the non-slip surface covering the whole body, and the slightly wider body itself.

I'm not sure if you can really see it, but it is snowing in the background. And foreground. And on the ground

I’m not sure if you can really see it, but it is snowing in the background. And foreground. And on the ground

That wider body makes it easy to hold and write with the pen even with gloves on (and in the cold, on wet paper, upside down, etc.).

Why is the arrow pointing? What does it mean???

Why is the arrow pointing? What does it mean???

The lanyard loop I understand. The hinged clip, we’re good. I like the grip, and the windows where you can see some of the process mechanisms that pressurize the ink cartridge. The only thing I don’t fully understand is the little plastic arrow thing on the end of the clip. I feel like it has some secret meaning or purpose and I just don’t get it.

UNDER PRESSURE, pushing down on me, pressing down on you—wait have I made this joke before

Just like the Tombow Apro AirPress, the regular AirPress ballpoint pen does really well with drawing. Each click of the pen (on the retraction actually, unless I’m mistaken) pressurizes the refill for 492 feet of writing. Is there a machine that tests these things? One robot arm holds the pen while another mechanism scrolls several hundred feet of paper by? Or is it just some probably underpaid guy writing the same word over and over until either he snaps or the ink cartridge runs out? The writing smoothness I would rank just under the supersmooth category; not butterglide skatesmoothery, but it’s still good. For the utility you get, there’s not much sacrifice of performance in terms of how the pen writes. I might loan my pen out to some LEOs I know to see how it holds up to some real field work.

What does 492 feet of writing even look like on paper? Has anyone stopped and really consciously looked at 492 feet of words?

What does 492 feet of writing even look like on paper? Has anyone stopped and really consciously looked at 492 feet of words?

Tombow AirPress Pen at Tombow

 

And now, for the thanksgiveaway! Tombow has provided an extra pen for me to give away, so give it away I shall!

The rules:

  1. Since I can only afford so much postage, I’m going to limit this giveaway to the U.S. only. Just leave one comment on this post any time between now and Cyber Monday, December 1st 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time.
  2. One winner will be picked at random from the comments section of this post. Only one comment per person! Comments in excess of one shall be deleted. The comments will be numbered in the order they are received, i.e. the first comment is #1, the second #2, and so on. I will hand-number the entries because why not. The Random Integer Generator at random.org will be used to pick the number of the winner.
  3. I’ll post the contest winner on Tuesday, December 2nd. Winner will have one week to email me. There’s a link to my email at the top of the right sidebar.

Thanks again to Tombow, and thanks to all of you for reading :)

Actions

Information

26 responses

27 11 2014
dipofink

Have a comment :) That pen really does look futuristic…

27 11 2014
Dan

Storm trooper was my first thought too. I’d love to have this pen.

28 11 2014
martha

Would love to try it

28 11 2014
homeschoolbyfrog

What a nifty pen — never tried anything like it, but I’d love the chance. Dh volunteers with a search and rescue team and would probably enjoy field testing it in the cold and damp, if he can pry it out of my fingers. Thanks for offering a chance on it!

28 11 2014
Tim G

Great giveaway! Been wanting to try one of these.

28 11 2014
jmreekes

Would love to try it out. Thanks for the opportunity

28 11 2014
RobH

You’re the third pen blogger that I’ve seen offering a give away of these in the last couple of weeks, so Tombow must really be trying to get the word out there. Not that I’d mind, because it looks like a great pen to own!

28 11 2014
Sharon Abar

Nice review. Thanks for the chance to win!

28 11 2014
jimbob38

Commenting! Good looking pen…

28 11 2014
cinderrific

Great review! Interested in trying this pen out myself…

28 11 2014
Alli

Heh, I love the storm trooper pen! :D

28 11 2014
Victor Porraz

Tombow yes.

29 11 2014
Jim Teed

Good review, thanks. How does it compare with the Pilot Downforce?

29 11 2014
Josh

Good review. Nice pen.

29 11 2014
Jacob

Enjoyed the review. Nice pen!

30 11 2014
Sarai

As a pen lover, thanks for the review and this giveaway!

1 12 2014
Katy Rotman (@katy246)

thanks for the giveaway , I’d love to win :)

1 12 2014
Josiah

This pen would make the Minnesota winter a bit easier to handle. Being able to write with gloves on is crucial! The Snowtrooper look is a bonus! :)

1 12 2014
ben

Hey I would love that pen

1 12 2014
Shari Czerwinski

Looks interesting, I had never heard or it before. Thanks for doing a review :)

1 12 2014
Abe G.

I’d love to win this pen! Thanks for the opportunity

1 12 2014
Brian Excarnate

I think I have an orange and gray version of this. I hope to be able to compare.

2 12 2014
Pat Hannon (@phannon)

I love stormtroopers. And pens. And pens that look like stormtroopers. And stormtroopers that use pens. And coffee.

2 12 2014
Sarah Price

Great review

7 12 2014
Kris KennedyKris

Appreciate the review…would love to try…great for the trail.

31 12 2014
Jake Chazan

I have two or three of these pens that I picked up for a rather modest price while in Taiwan. They are great value for money particularly compared to say a Fisher Space Pen. The point is a bit too fine for me but nonetheless a great writing instrument. Tombow makes great products including pencils which are all a bit hard to find in North America.

Leave a Reply

