Mini Review: Five Star Dry Erase Pocket

14 09 2014
Behold the majesty of the door of my work locker. The inside is a beauty of Tetris-like kitchen implement organization

Behold the majesty of the door of my work locker. The inside is a beauty of Tetris-like kitchen implement organization

At work, my half-size locker is packed full of various pots, pans, and assorted kitchen essentials so that I can fully utilize the breakroom stove/oven at lunch time. Because these half lockers are so small, and because a proper complement of kitchen cookware involves several items, it’s imperative that I organize my locker as efficiently as possible, while still having easy access to the things I need (thus the magnetic spice canisters above). Today, I want to give a shout out to that white oval thing in the middle, the Five Star Dry Erase Pocket. Previously I had one of those approximately rectangular mesh boxes holding my bacon tongs, serrated kitchen knife, straight edge kitchen knife, tiny whisk, pan scraper, vegetable peeler, and fork; it was a bit much for the two magnet strips on the back of the mesh basket. It frequently fell off the locker door, usually as loudly as possible, often taking down the green mesh tray below with it, sending my kitcheny goods everywhere. I saw the Five Star Dry Erase Pocket on sale for ~50% off at Target, and decided to give it a go. WOW. The entire back of the unit is a magnet. This thing is on the door and it isn’t going anywhere. I need to go back to Target and get another one for my fridge at home, because it’s that good.

 

Five Star Dry Erase Pocket (look around at the clearance sections of box stores and you might be able to find it cheaper, as I did at Target!)

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 09 2014
PenTool

You can cook at work? Wow, that’s great. Love the Five Star Pocket. I will try to find one in my area.

As an avid cook myself, I’m wondering about the spice jars. What do they contain?

16 09 2014
No Pen Intended

Spices are cinnamon, garlic powder, I think ground ginger, chili powder, and then in the locker there are two more for chipotle powder and crushed red pepper flakes. Plus a pepper grinder in the locker, salt in the kitchen, and a big rosemary bush right outside the back door at HQ. With 1 hour to cook and clean up, I usually end up doing stir fry, roasted rosemary veggies, roasted root vegetables, breakfasts, pizzas (from crust mix, I’m terrible), pasta dishes, things like that

18 09 2014
Best Julienne Peeler

I just like the helpful information you provide for your articles.
I will bookmark your weblog and test again here frequently.
I am moderately certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper right here!
Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

