Shaw Pens – The Bessemer Ballpoint

19 03 2014
lkj!

Because turquoise makes everything better

Alan Shaw contacted me about helping come up with a name for a new pen he’d designed, and happily I accepted the challenge.

I opened the mystery package to this intriguing nameless pen

I opened the mystery package to this intriguing nameless pen

The look is high-class mechanic, with a touch of the inventor about it with that o-ring grip and accents, and the hex nut around the knock. The name is a nod to Sir Henry Bessemer, who developed the process to mass produce cheap mild steel, which paved the way for the proliferation of the hex nut.

As decorations, the o-rings are a solid choice

As decorations, the o-rings are a solid choice

The o-rings as grip will be a make or break feature—either you will appreciate their grippability, or you will find them too hard. It may depend on how hard you grip the pen.

I am getting hungry for sweets

I am getting hungry for sweets

The body I love. It looks like an enchanted cola float captured in resin. The pen will come in other colors, but anything reminiscent of a tasty dessert is a good start.

I wonder if o-rings come in other colors. I wonder if I'd want the o-rings in other colors...

I wonder if o-rings come in other colors. I wonder if I’d want the o-rings in other colors…

My only complaint is the length of the pen. For me, this pen would be perfect if the tip came out right where the grip meets the nosecone. As is, it feels a bit long in my hand, feels like it would balance better if it was just that little bit shorter. Maybe if you have bigger hands it’d be perfect.

I need Uni-ball to make Parker-style Jetstream ink ballpoint refills. That would complete my life

I need Uni-ball to make Parker-style Jetstream ink ballpoint refills. That would complete my life

The refill it comes with, a Franklin-Christoph brand Piper Premium 1000 Ultra-Glide ballpoint, is a fairly smooth and fairly dark Parker-style ballpoint refill. There are some moments occasionally when writing when I can feel some oddity, something less than 100% smoothness, but it’s generally a pretty decent refill. The pen will take any Parker-style ballpoint refill, so I’ve paired the lovely cola colors with a sky blue Private Reserve ballpoint refill, to fabulous effect.

Here's hoping there will be some new ones at the Raleigh Pen Show!

Here’s hoping there will be some new ones at the Raleigh Pen Show!

Keep an eye out at the pen shows and on the Shaw Pens website for the Bessemer!

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2014
WINKS #1 - Weekly Pen Paper & Ink Links | Pen Paper Ink LetterPen Paper Ink Letter

[…] Shaw Pens – The Bessemer Ballpoint […]

Leave a Reply

