Quo Vadis Miniweek with Blue Texas Cover

24 02 2014

I’ve heard good things about Quo Vadis planners, so when I saw one last Miniweek on sale at my local pen store, I jumped on it (even though they were all out of covers). I tweeted of my bountiful gain but lack of cover, as I proceeded to affix some soft polyurethane-type material to my Miniweek with tacky glue to serve as a DIY cover. Then, lo and behold, Quo Vadis tweeted at me to say they had an extra Miniweek cover that they would give me! Some tedious craft-glue-undoing later, a joyous little planner for 2014 was assembled. Thanks to Quo Vadis for the cover (and thanks to Office Supplies and More for having had the planner on sale).

Coin for reference. For some reason, 1 euro cent was the first coin I was able to find. If you've never seen a euro cent in person before, they are adorably tiny

Coin for reference. For some reason, 1 euro cent was the first coin I was able to find. If you’ve never seen a euro cent in person before, they are adorably tiny

The Miniweek is small and simple; the Texas cover serving as something to protect the little refill from the world. It’s a smooth polyurethane-like cover made with no PVC. There’s no branding, just the darker recessed accent mark and raised decorative “stitching” around the edges. It feels smooth to the touch—the kind of notebook you want to rub on your face. Time will tell if the cover will hold up over the course of multiple refill years.

Tiny calendars so I can see how far into the future that I STILL won't have certain choice holidays off.

Tiny calendars so I can see how far into the future that I STILL won’t have certain choice holidays off.

Being so slim, there isn’t much extra to the Miniweek. There’s two pages for personal information, little 2014 and 2015 calendars, address pages, and note pages, in addition to the main meat of the planner itself.

Work schedule, running schedule, blog schedule

Work schedule, running schedule, blog schedule. And oatmeal cookies

I like that each day gets an equal amount of space. Usually planners end up short-changing the weekend on page real estate, but as someone with an unusual work schedule I appreciate having equal space to plan out my days. And they even fit in a little space for notes!

(Ignore the part where I smudged the first Pelikan M150 sample, that was almost out of ink and other such excuses) LOOK AT THAT CRISP LINE AND SHADING ON "KR3"...so beautiful...

(Ignore the part where I smudged the first Pelikan M150 sample, that was almost out of ink and other such excuses) LOOK AT THAT CRISP LINE AND SHADING ON “KR3″…so beautiful…

But the best part about the Miniweek is this magical paper. It’s of an almost tissue-like thinness typically reserved for holy books, and typically not associated with the kind of paper you’d want to put a fountain pen to. But oh, how wrong you’d be. This paper holds fountain pen ink beautifully. No fuzz, no feathers, just clean, crisp lines. With such thin paper, showthrough is inevitable, but none of the fountain pens bled through (the Parker and Sheaffer rollerbals are another story). And the dry times were surprising—Diamine Ancient Copper in a Pilot Vanishing Point M nib drying within ten seconds. This is a planner made for fountain pens.

Sorry hip art deer, but I'd like you better if you were actually some kind of silk ribbon attached to the planner.

Sorry hip art deer, but I’d like you better if you were actually some kind of silk ribbon attached to the planner.

My only complaint is the lack of a bookmark. The pages are too thin to use a paper clip, so I picked up some trendy page flags to keep track of my place in the year. Something built-in would have been nice.

Also maybe something to keep it better closed would be nice? But eh, slip it in a pocket and what difference does it make

Also maybe something to keep it better closed would be nice? But eh, slip it in a pocket and what difference does it make

Overall the Miniweek hits a lot of points that I’m looking for in a planner. It’s small, with a nice layout, and most importantly, fountain pen friendly paper.

Quo Vadis Miniweek Planner at Quo Vadis

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 03 2014
Nock Co. Maryapple Two Memo Book Bi-Fold | No Pen Intended

[…] you could fit in the Hightower notebook pocket? Multiply that by two. I’m currently pairing my Quo Vadis Miniweek with a 9x14cm Clairefontaine notebook, but sometimes I’ll throw my phone in there instead. Why […]

7 03 2014
Friday review roundup/linkshare « Quo Vadis Blog

[…] I was traveling last week, I didn’t get to share No Pen Intended’s review of our Miniweek planner (sold out, or it would be in my pocket, […]

31 08 2016
Hobonichi Techo – A [3/4ths] Year in Review | No Pen Intended

[…] to keep track of my work schedule and overtime hours, but the paper was terrible. I also had a tiny Quo Vadis Miniweek to have good paper in my life, but the Miniweek didn’t have the monthly overview I needed to […]

30 01 2017
Quo Vadis 2017 Plan & Note Planner | No Pen Intended

[…] a good paper family (Quo Vadis, Clairefontaine, Rhodia are all of the same family), and I loved the Quo Vadis Miniweek back in my pre-Hobonichi […]

Leave a Reply

