Jetstream BLX 1.0mm – Green Black, Blue Black, and Purple Black

6 02 2014
I spent an embarrassing amount of time trying to find my red black Jetstream BLX to work on this review, only to realize eventually that I never even owned any such pen.

I spent an embarrassing amount of time trying to find my red black Jetstream BLX to work on this review, only to realize eventually that I never even owned any such pen.

I first saw the Jetstream BLX in a big box store, on a special Uni-ball endcap display. I immediately texted my local pen store (“I saw Uni-ball Jetstream BLX colors in an evil boxstore; when r u getting them so I can buy?”) and brought another Jetstream into my life. Would it be like the glorious Jetstream standard, or would it be a crushing disappointment like the newer color series?

If only looks were everything...

If only looks were everything…

In the realm of design, good work. The rubbery black body (with subtle microsparkles in the material) provides good traction for gripping, and the material has a pleasant handfeel without picking up too much debris.

Excellent use of colors. Better even than the Signo BLX.

Excellent use of colors. Better even than the Signo BLX.

The rest of the pen is either silver accents, or translucent plastic matched to the color of the refill. Love it. No complaints on style.

Here's where things fall apart

Here’s where things fall apart

But I do have complaints, and unfortunately, they’re about the writing experience. You can feel ink gunking on the ballpoint tip, clogging, with results ranging from episodes of writing not being smooth (being rather jarring, jerky, uneven feeling) all the way to not even writing at all.

How appropriate that it couldn't write out the word DISAPPOINTMENT, because that's exactly what it is.

How appropriate that it couldn’t write out the word DISAPPOINTMENT, because that’s exactly what it is.

I don’t know what the problem is. The colors look great, but the writing is unreliable. Would a smaller tip size help? Why would it, when the 0.5mm Jetstream color series also performed poorly, and black 1.0mm Jetstreams have done just fine? Maybe that blue-black Jetstream color ink series I got so long ago was just a fluke when it comes to the behavior of Jetstream inks with colors.

In the trendy garbage can where it belongs

In the trendy garbage can where it belongs

Sorry Jetstream. Sorry Uni-ball. But these BLX models are terrible.

But if you want to give them a shot, I’m not stopping you. You’ll find them at many box stores and also at JetPens.

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 02 2014
Penacious H

I agree with you totally; I really love the standard blue or black 1.0 Jetstream; but these BLX’s do not write well…ink is not as rich, ink color is thin and not vibrant. The colors, for example, are MUCH better on the BLX Signo Gel’s and even the ‘write’ is better, and I’m not a fan of the Signo’s (medium). I wish someone could figure out the product consistency issue and figure out how to address the lame vibrancy issue.

8 02 2014
No Pen Intended

Now when I recommend a Jetstream to any common person, I’ll have to throw in the caveat “BLUE OR BLACK ONLY. Do not touch the BLX or other colored-ink models, for in that way lies only treachery.”

23 02 2014
Mike

I have the brown-black version, and it’s pretty okay. Not great, not not trash.

27 02 2014
Sam

My BLX has been exactly the same writing experience as the black. Your problem probably has to do with quality issues they’ve been having lately, and not the color.

I had a brand new Jetstream Premier black start skipping then eventually run out of ink after only 6 weeks. I checked the refill and it’s 80% full, but nothing will revive it. I’m going to have to look at the Pilot equivalents if this happens again.

15 04 2014
Uni Jetstream 4&1 4 Color Ballpoint Multi Pen and Pencil – Purple | No Pen Intended

[…] had some problems recently with certain Jetstream color models not living up to the Jetstream name—consider […]

Leave a Reply

