Shaw Stylus/Ballpoint Necklace Pen

3 12 2013
Editing assistance brought to you by my cat, who has decided to sleep on my arm while I'm trying to type captions

Editing assistance brought to you by my cat, who has decided to sleep on my arm while I’m trying to type captions

Though I initially resisted getting the one that matched my Shaw Gilbert Fountain Pen, a similar pearl and purple colored swirl version proved too great not to get.

Resemblance to snail dissipates when actually worn

Resemblance to snail dissipates when actually worn

First off it’s a great accessory, sartorially speaking. You’ve got this beautiful chain (which, if you wanted something less classy couture you could replace it with say a black or leather cord, which would still look nice), matching silver accents, and that gorgeous resin body.

Chain hangs long enough to easily use the stylus without it hanging all the way down to your kneecaps

Chain hangs long enough to easily use the stylus without it hanging all the way down to your kneecaps

Look at the resin! No, really, look at it! Beautiful!

Are you looking? I'm not sure I can't really tell; the internet is in the way.

Are you looking? I’m not sure I can’t really tell; the internet is in the way.

The pen is compressed on a spring; once unscrewed from the cap the inner metal tube containing the refill expands out to an overall pretty normal pen length. And though I wouldn’t sit here and write out a copy of the greatest works of Shakespeare, it’s perfectly comfortable for some quick notes. You would think it would feel weirdly balanced. It doesn’t. You would think the thin barrel would feel too thin. Somehow, it doesn’t.

Open sesame

Open sesame

The refill it comes with is a standard mini ballpoint—nothing too fancy.

Open disassembly

Open disassembly

But I’m thinking that means I can put some of those sweet Sharbo X gel refills in. Score!

Ha! You can't sit on my arm when I've got you trapped in the DIGITAL REALM, SILLY FELINE!

Ha! You can’t sit on my arm when I’ve got you trapped in the DIGITAL REALM, SILLY FELINE!

When it comes to evaluating capacitive styluses, I admit I am a little lost. Does it work? Yes. Hooray! I will note that it is replaceable (it unscrews from the body), so if it ever craps out, breaks, explodes, or whatever it is that happens to capacitive stylii, your pen(dant) won’t be ruined. Oh, that would be a good name for it. Capacitive Pen(dant).

Mesmerizing!

Mesmerizing!

The problem with a lot of emergency pens is that I forget to put them in designated locations in advance. Around the neck is perfect—if I lose what’s holding the chain on, I’ve got bigger (and perhaps decapitatory) problems.

There’s no specific link up on Alan Shaw’s website yet for this handy little number, but if you’re interested send him an email or give him a call!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

