Mini Review: INK SAMPLE – J. Herbin Rouge Hematite (1670 Anniversary Ink)

21 11 2013
20131121-080039.jpg

I was expecting more gold, less crusty ink pile

This color is supposed to be a pretty striking inky embodiment of red hematite (there’s a perfect picture over on the Fountain Pen Network review/thread by mhphoto; google results in several pictures that look like some kind of ground hamburger stone). I promise you I shook my ink sample before filling up my pen, but I never got any gold sheen; from what I’ve read around online this may be a function of this sample coming from newer, less golden-infused stock. The base color of the Rouge Hematite is beautiful and saturated (unlike most J. Herbin inks I’ve bought, which all tend to look a bit washed out), but all that pigment comes at a price.
20131121-080049.jpg
This happens. All over. The underside of the nib is completely covered in a layer of pink ink crust. This will be a project cleaning this pen back up again. Until I can get my hands on a sample that exhibits the lovely sheen of gold I don’t think I’ll be springing for a bottle of this stuff. But samples are always fun to try.

J. Herbin 1670 Rouge Hematite Ink Sample at the Goulet Pen Company

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 11 2013
carolynec

Maybe they didn’t shake up the full bottle enough before decanting the sample?

I hadn’t heard that about newer stock having less of the gold sheen, and I got mine back in the first round. I’ll have to dig it out and see how it’s holding up. I have to admit I don’t use it much, but it’s not like I’ll need a hoard of it for the zombie apocalypse (except maybe to pour over myself for a shiny zombie disguise), so I’d might as well crack it open and use it up.

Thank you for reminding me I have it, though :)

22 11 2013
Pencil Me In

Many inky friends and myself fell in love with the original J. Herbin Rouge Hematite, rushed out and bought a bottle of what turned out to be newer stock and found that it did none of the cool greenish shading and gold sheen that made the original so lovely. Oh, and yes – it’s super crusty!

24 11 2013
Peninkcillin

When I reviewed this ink http://peninkcillin.blogspot.com/2011/05/j-herbin-1670-anniversary-rouge.html it must have been one of the first few batches. Mine certainly has the gold sheen. It would be really sad if they changed the formula. But on the other hand this was supposed to be a limited edition ink so it’s surprising they kept it in production for so long.

25 11 2013
Link Love: Miscellany Loves Company | The Well-Appointed Desk

[…] Herbin Rouge Hematite Reviews (via No Pen Intended and These Beautiful […]

Leave a Reply

