Uni-ball Signo 207 Battle – Blue Ink

19 09 2013
Do not believe the faint refrains of advertising media; bolder is NOT better

Do not believe the faint refrains of advertising media; bolder is NOT better

First, a disclaimer: I only bought the bold (1.0mm) and micro (0.5mm) Uni Signo 207 gel pens new, because I already had a regular/medium (0.7mm) and an ultra micro (0.38mm) in blue in my horde. As much as I love wasting money, I decided to cheapskate it this time and so, if any incorrect conclusions are drawn because half of these pens aren’t brand-spanking-new, I apologize. Please lodge any complaints with Uni-ball, since in spite of my undying love for their Jetstream, they have not yet seen fit to shower me with freebies.

The most straightforward, boring picture of the lot. My apologies.

The most straightforward, boring picture of the lot. My apologies.

Overall, the Signo 207s are virtually identical except for two overt things: the iconic clip—

You'd be able to recognize that clip even on your grandmother's old black-and-white notebook-sized television

You’d be able to recognize that clip even on your grandmother’s old black-and-white suitcase-sized television

And the color of the labels printed on the clip and the barrel.

 Why pretty silver for the big bad 0.7 and 1.0mm pens? Why the slightly less attractive gold for the more lovely-writing 0.38mm and 0.5mm?

Why pretty silver for the big bad 0.7 and 1.0mm pens? Why the slightly less attractive gold for the more lovely-writing 0.38mm and 0.5mm?

As far as the design goes, I’m keen on everything except the grip. It’s not a mind-bendingly beautiful look, but it doesn’t need to be. They look slick, and they make the pen cup they’re in look put together. Professional yet disposable (though they are refillable, most casual pen users will likely toss them once they’re empty). My big beef is with the grip. I do not like all the little raised ovals.

Little ovals of sheer annoyance

Little ovals of sheer annoyance

It has been well established that I simply cannot learn the ideal tripod grip. I constantly revert to my ill-advised multi-finger ergonomically-challenged grasping. The little ovals get pressed into the base of my thumb, which gets annoying over time. The Premier 207 body with its Alpha Gel grip doesn’t have this problem, but this isn’t a review of that pen.

IT IS SO AMAZING UNLESS YOU ARE COLORBLIND OR FOR SOME REASON HAVE A BLACK AND WHITE COMPUTER MONITOR

IT IS SO AMAZING UNLESS YOU ARE COLORBLIND OR FOR SOME REASON HAVE A BLACK AND WHITE COMPUTER MONITOR

I almost forgot the secret bonus difference—like the G2s, it appears the tip of each different size of Signo 207 gets its own color.

Shout out to this nose cone design! Do like. Goes well with the clip.

Shout out to this nose cone design! Do like. Goes well with the clip.

So how do they all write? Doing my best to ignore the discomfort wrought unto me by these cursed little ovals, the ink flow on all these pens seems good. No problems with skipping or the pens not writing. Looking very closely, you can see a problem with uniformity of line.

Choo-choo all aboard the almost-railroading express

Choo-choo all aboard the almost-railroading express

The ink deposits thicker on the sides, thinner in the middle. It never gets to the point of full railroading, but it worries me.

Top: biggest vs. smallest. Bottom row: ultra micro vs.  micro, micro vs. medium, medium vs. bold

Top: smallest vs. biggest. Bottom row: ultra micro vs. micro, micro vs. medium, medium vs. bold

The ultra micro is thin and crisp, but there is an occasional odd feeling at the tip—it’s rare, but it’s there. It’s not scratchy…I don’t quite know how to put it. The micro strikes the right balance that the ultra micro falls just short of—the micro isn’t as thin, but there’s no weirdness to it when writing. It’s smooth, without having a large tip (which leads to messy-looking handwriting for yours truly). The 0.7 is smooth, but we’ve crossed the threshold—my handwriting doesn’t look as nice. And the bold? Now we’re totally off the rails. This pen requires DRY TIME, especially on smooth paper. And it looks SO. MESSY. No thanks.

I like Uni Signos, but the 207 isn’t my favorite in the Signo line. It doesn’t write as nicely as other models I’ve tried. But as far as the 207 goes, the 0.5mm micro Signo is the best of the bunch.

Available basically everywhere, including but not limited to office supply stores, corporate leviathans, select gas stations, the inside coat pocket of a shady individual hawking last minute back to school deals sometime in August, and multiple sources online.

Actions

Information

9 responses

21 09 2013
rminnj

Your photography of the pens tips is very nice.. It’s interesting how they have no many point sizes.

23 09 2013
Bob M

Great review and photogs thanks. Enjoyed seeing the tip sizes compared side by side. I have a few thrown around the house as disposables but at last check these are getting a little pricey for disposables or maybe it’s just me.

23 09 2013
Rick

I love your photography of pens! You know the best thing to do with the 207 Body once it’s empty? Put a Pentel EnerGel refill into it! Yes, they fit.

24 09 2013
Pilot G2 0.38mm vs. Uni-ball Signo 207 Ultra Micro | No Pen Intended

[…] between the two most commonly available retractable micro tip pens: the Pilot G2 0.38mm and the Uni-ball Signo 207 Ultra Micro (in […]

24 09 2013
Mike D.

I hate the grip on the 207s and complained to UniBall about it several years ago. They evidently don’t care. The nubs on this grip HURT! I’m a former aircraft mechanic and have tough hands but these things still hurt. I can’t believe anybody buys these things a 2nd time. There is a line of 207s that has a more colorful body and a white grip area and the nubs on these don’t seem to be as harsh. Maybe a softer material. Otherwise the 207s are wonderful pens, much better than any alternative, especially with their much more permanent ink. I use the Premier 207 with the gel grip and buy refills or buy pens and throw the body away. I also love the Signo DX, Signo RT, and Jetstream pens from UniBall.

26 10 2014
!! 200th Review Giveaway !! | No Pen Intended

[…] 0.7mm Uni Signo 207 Premier Black Gel […]

2 07 2015
HMM Rule/One | No Pen Intended

[…] refill shipped with the HMM Rule/One is a Mitsubishi UNI 0.38mm gel refill (same as a standard Signo 207); this was the first Kickstarter pen I’d seen designed specifically with the Uni Signo refill […]

21 10 2016
Oops!

Hi. This is a really awesome comparison of the 207 tips. I don’t like Uni-ball’s standard blue ink so much, but am really fond of the dark blue ink from their BLX line. Unfortunately, I really can’t stand using pens that have tips larger than .5mm (the BLX only comes in .7mm), so I have been trying to find an equivalent pen in the Signo line.

Anyway, I ran into your blog while doing some research and saw that you’ve also played around with the DX and RT Signos based on some of your older blog entries. I was wondering if you happen to have all 3 of the pens (207, DX, and RT/RT1) in dark blue and can do a similar comparison to the one you did in this blog post.

FYI, according to Jetpens, the refills between the 3 different pens should be interchangeable, but I don’t know if they are all the same pens with different bodies, or if the refills (UMR-82 to UMR-87) just belong to one of the pens and just happen to fit in the other 2 pens. I am more interested in just getting refills as I don’t actually like the 207 body. I am planning to put them in a G2 Limited or some other (prettier?) pen that I can fit them into eventually.

I personally don’t have any experience using the DX or RT/RT1 Signos, but am willing to try out those pens/refills if the dark blue color is the same as the dark blue from the 207 BLX. Your opinion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

21 10 2016
Oops!

Quick correction… the DX uses a different refill UMR-1 in .28mm, .38mm, and .5mm tip sizes. I got confused because the 207, RT, and RT1 refills from Jetpens also come in .28mm, .38mm, and .5mm tip sizes. I don’t know if the 207 refill they sell is from Japan or the US, but those come in .7mm and only in plain blue or black, not dark blue for the BLX. Sorry for the confusion.

Leave a Reply

