Daycraft Signature Inspiro Notebook

5 09 2013

Every time I get an email from Daycraft, I thank a Nigerian prince for making their spam emails so entertaining that I check my spam folder on a semi-regular basis, and thus saw the original email from Daycraft mistakenly sitting among heartfelt and randomly capitalized entreaties from various obscure political players in far-flung nations. Were it not for those princes and ambassadors, caught in the dire circumstances of assassinations and intrigue with their millions of US Dollars in jeopardy, I might never have seen that email and made contact with Daycraft, and this review never would have been. And of course, I’d like to thank Daycraft for sending me this free sample of their new Signature Inspiro notebook to try.

What your very own Signature Inspiro might look like by the dawn's early light after a 15 hour night shift.

What your very own Signature Inspiro might look like by the dawn’s early light after a 15 hour night shift.

There are three variations of the Signature Inspiro: Today Is My Day, Stop Wishing Start Doing, and the one I chose, Great Ideas Have to Start Somewhere. All three are A5-sized, with 176 pages of 6.5mm lined cream-color paper, and addictively soft fine Italian polyurethane covers. Each cover is a different color: ash grey for Today is My Day, caramel for Stop Wishing Start Doing, and applesauce for Great Ideas Have to Start Somewhere. I liked the look and slogan of this Inspiro best out of the three. Great Ideas Have to Start Somewhere, so why not right here in this very notebook?

Composite notebook ACTION!

Why break up the text every other line when I can put all these pictures TOGETHER?

The notebook is soft-covered, no closing band or pockets (a lack of pockets doesn’t particularly perturb me—I’ve stopped making pockets on my personal notebooks out of laziness), though it does have a grey silk ribbon bookmark. I like the look of it, the feel of it, the weight of it, the flex of it.

I promise you, the paper is cream colored. Do not be fooled by my inability to take pictures in proper lighting.

I promise you, the paper is cream colored. Do not be fooled by my inability to take pictures in proper lighting.

Unfortunately, this paper is not friendly toward the liquid inks of fountain pens and rollerballs; they feather and fuzz enough to make a dozen baby chickens by the time you’re done with the page. I was very disappointed by this, since the Handy Pick blank sketchbook paper handled a variety of liquid inks so well, and this paper is thick enough that bleedthrough wasn’t a problem except on the broadest-nibbed Vanishing Point. Stick to ballpoints, gel pens, pencils, or used Sailor Ink Bars that you’ve refilled with blue Lamy ink (which, for whatever reason, is combining with this paper for the most WONDERFUL-feeling tactile writing with almost no feathering whatsoever), or risk running afoul of the strong feathering tendencies of this paper. Outside of the liquid inks, this paper is no problem.

I think my camera and computer are in a conspiracy to make everything pink I take pictures of look Pepto Bismal pink. No. It is not quite that bright of a pink.

I think my camera and computer are in a conspiracy to make everything pink I take pictures of look Pepto Bismal pink. No. It is not quite that bright of a pink.

I’m thinking this might be a good notebook to try out that Bullet Journaling system in, or at the very least perhaps use for handwriting out my reviews. Though I’m a bit let down by the paper, I do still like the notebook. It’ll give me an excuse to use my ballpoints and gel pens more.

Daycraft Signature Inspiro Notebook at Daycraft

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 09 2013
PilotG2.38

I like buying nice notebooks like that but then never want to write in them due to my poor penmanship. That and I never have anything THAT important to write down.

13 09 2013
Andy (@mrnewit)

Getting your colors to come out more naturally in your photos isn’t actually that hard. You just need to set your white balance. Get a card, take a picture of it in the lighting you are using, take your shots and then when editing adjust all of your color temperatures and tints to the shot you took of the card. Simple, makes you photos accurate–which is so important for your use–and allows you to experiment with light to make good shots with intriguing looks.

http://www.amazon.com/GENUINE-WhiBal-Certified-Neutral-Balance/dp/B004G3NW5M/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1379076055&sr=8-3&keywords=white+balance+card

Really, I’m not a card salesman or anything of the sort. I just like your blog and would love to see those shots perked up.

Leave a Reply

