Handy Pick Organizer Pocket Notebook

24 08 2013

I’ve been carrying the Handy Pick around for a nice little while—Daycraft offered to send me a sample to try, and though of all the cool colors it comes in pink is the last color I would’ve picked for myself, I’m not going to say no to such a high quality free sample. I’ve been learning to overcome the pinkness and embrace the Handy Pick.

A little bit larger than a check book, and this pink keeps looking a bit off. Should be more the slightly pale pink color of generic oral contraceptives than shocking pink of pepto bismal.

A little bit larger than a check book, and this pink keeps looking a bit off in my pictures. Should be more the slightly pale pink color of generic oral contraceptives than the shocking pink of pepto bismal.

The cover is made of that same delectably soft Italian polyurethane that the Signature Diary is made of. It’s got a card slot, back pocket, and what appears to be a two-notebook capacity, though it’s also possible that I don’t know what I’m doing.

Biggest surprise: this faboo paper

Biggest surprise: this faboo paper

The blank notebook/sketchbook insert comes with 30 perforated pages (60 total sides front and back) of 64 gsm white paper that does surprisingly well with a range of pens and inks, particularly for such thin paper. I mean just look at that Lamy Joy! Look at the broad-nibbed Vanishing Point!

Serious fountain pens,  no problem. Except for the TWSBI Mini (with Pendleton-modded flex nib) that decided it would have nothing to do with this paper.

Serious fountain pens, no problem. Except for the TWSBI Mini (with Pendleton-modded flex nib) that decided it would have nothing to do with this paper.

There were a couple fountain pens that didn’t do so hot (fuzzing, feathering, bleeding through), but they were the exception, not the rule. It’s not 100% perfect paper, but it does a very good job and feels smooth.

Ruler, I do not even know what to do with you. Where are you supposed to go.

Ruler, I do not even know what to do with you. Where are you supposed to go.

I don’t quite know what to make of the ruler, given that I have need of one almost approximately never. I don’t even quite know how it’s supposed to go on. Does it go inside the cover? Outside, holding the whole notebook closed? I don’t know! It is nice that it’s clear, with the grid, though my American exceptionalism keenly notes the absence of inches. How will I measure my American things?

Now I just need some books for these little marks.

Now I just need some books for these little marks.

These bookmarks are neato. Fun to play with. Not conducive to my normal reading habit, which usually takes place at work, and usually involves needing a bookmark immediately so I can throw the book down and focus on emergency funtimes. These bookmarks slide on easily, but you do have to put some focus into it (moreso than I would for something just shoved into the book). The slim profile is nice, as is the way it opens ever so slightly to slide onto the page when you push down on the raised button. Doubles as a fancy paperclip. Pretty spiffy.

Given how the ruler is in the way of the back pocket, I feel like I'm probably doing something wrong.

Given how the ruler is in the way of the back pocket, I feel like I’m probably doing something wrong.

Got this single card slot, which nicely fits a twice-folded handwritten review. The front pocket easily conceals my phone (will slide out if not secured by gravity) and the back two pockets seem like good places to tuck bits of paper, spare checks, tickets (for whoever out there who actually has physical, printed tickets).

Stealthily conceals slim smartphones

Stealthily conceals slim smartphones

For my personal use, I think I’d swap the ruler for perhaps the cards holder (because when do I only ever need one card?) or the fastener pocket, maybe add a simple calendar to accompany these fantastic blank pages. A notebook is only as good as its paper, and this little organizational notebook is off to a great start.

The Handy Pick Organizer Pocket Notebook at Daycraft (note: prices are in Hong Kong dollars, not US dollars. That’s why it says HK$. Though they do have the option now to display prices in US dollars! )

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 08 2013
PenTool

Very nice review. I will have to check this out, it might need to be in my stationery supplies collection!

I think the ruler is meant to be, in addition to a measuring device, placed behind a page as a lettering guide. Just a guess on my part.

26 08 2013
No Pen Intended

Hmm, hadn’t thought of using the ruler like that!

5 09 2013
Daycraft Signature Inspiro Notebook | No Pen Intended

[…] chickens by the time you’re done with the page. I was very disappointed by this, since the Handy Pick blank sketchbook paper handled a variety of liquid inks so well, and this paper is thick enough […]

Leave a Reply

