OfficeMax Private Brand Writing Products – Review & GIVEAWAY!

27 07 2013
It's impressively difficult to accurately capture the neon vibrancy of those highlighters. Scans didn't work, and even pictures don't do it justice

It’s impressively difficult to accurately capture the neon vibrancy of those highlighters. Scans didn’t work, and even pictures don’t do it justice

A massive review, what madness! OfficeMax approached me to do a review of some of their new private brand products—they’re expanding their offerings, and sent me the trifecta of office supply supply basics to take for a spin. Thank you to OfficeMax for the free samples! We’ve got here the OfficeMax Retractable Gel Pens, Mechanical Pencils with Grip, and Pen Style Highlighters.

Blister pack of 0.7mm retractable gel pens comes with 2 black, 1 red, 1 blue, I just didn't photograph the redundant items

Blister pack of 0.7mm retractable gel pens comes with 2 black, 1 red, 1 blue, I just didn’t photograph the redundant items

I’ll start with the gel pens, since they’re my favorite of the lot. The design is clearly in the same vein as other basic level gel pens—simple, similar, and safely within that particular standard.

And as per usual, the G2 craps out. Ladies and gentlemen, can there be a pen worse for your office than the Pilot G2?

And as per usual, the G2 craps out. Ladies and gentlemen, can there be a pen worse for your office than the Pilot G2?

The ink colors are intense. I’d like to see more colors roll out with equal vibrancy, just as I’d like to see 0.5mm and perhaps even—dare I dream?—something like 0.38mm tip size. The ink flows well; no skipping or start-up problems. And though there hasn’t been blobbing, the strong ink flow is leading to some thicker lines in some of the curves. This ink also isn’t quick drying. Lefties beware. I can easily see this pen replacing Pilot’s G2 in an office (and very much hope any misguided offices that still use the G2 as their basic supply stock STOP DOING THAT), but for me the slow dry time is probably going to keep this pen out of my regular personal rotation.

Box comes with 12 assorted color #2 mechanical pencils, 0.7mm, top advancing

Box comes with 12 assorted color #2 mechanical pencils, 0.7mm, top advancing

These are the kind of mechanical pencils just made for giveaways. They aren’t fancy, but the matching eraser and grip is just the sort of touch that endears you to a freebie. I could see businesses ordering mass quantities of this pencil, getting their own company logo added on it, and giving them out to promote their company. I could see parents getting a couple boxes and throwing one of these pencils in a color-themed party favor. They are perfectly reasonable pencils (we all know that the Uni Kuru Toga has pretty much ended all competition in the pencil area, and everything else is just vying for lower tiers; this is obviously no Kuru Toga). The lead sleeve retracts, the better to protect it when thrown in a bag. The lead is held firmly in place when in use. The grip is very grippy, though it smells remarkably like a bag of cheap balloons.

Pen style chisel-tip highlighters come in a pack of 10: 3 yellow, 2 each of orange and pink, and 1 each of green, blue, and purple

Pen style chisel-tip highlighters come in a pack of 10: 3 yellow, 2 each of orange and pink, and 1 each of green, blue, and purple

There’s really not much I know to say about highlighters. Do they highlight? Yes. We’re done. The neon colors pop, in a way my mere pictures cannot capture, and you can read text beneath all the colors. The spring loaded cap reminds me of the Pilot Preppy cap, though I worry that, like the Preppy, the cap may be prone to cracking. Time will tell. The highlighter lays down a solid, juicy line with no skipping—though there is some concern with the dry time needed for such a wet line. Don’t use it to highlight in a glossy textbook unless you want to risk a mess.

Not pictured: 1 gel pen, 4 highlighters, and about 7 additional pencils.

Not pictured: 1 gel pen, 4 highlighters, and about 7 additional pencils.

******************************

THE GIVEAWAY RULES!

******************************

Now for the part you’ve been looking forward to: the giveaway! OfficeMax is generously providing a sample package (set of retractable gel pens, pen style highlighters, and mechanical pencils with grip) directly to one lucky reader here. Your rules as follows:

  1. To enter, just leave one comment on this post explaining why you’re excited to try OfficeMax’s new private brand writing products—any time between now and Monday, August 12th 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time. Sadly, this contest is only open to U.S. residents.
  2. One winner will be picked at random from the comments section of this post. Only one comment per person! Comments in excess of one shall be deleted. The comments will be numbered in the order they are received, i.e. the first comment is #1, the second #2, and so on. Because my blog doesn’t seem to number the comments on its own yet, and I STILL don’t have time/the willpower to fix it, I will probably just hand-number all the entries in Photoshop like I did here because this is the kind of solution that sane people come up with. The Random Integer Generator at random.org will be used to pick the number of the winner.
  3. I’ll post the contest winner on Tuesday, August 13th. Winners will have one week to email me. There’s a link to my email at the top of the right sidebar. I’ll forward your info to OfficeMax so they can send you your pens, pencils, and highlighters!

Good luck, and thanks again to OfficeMax!

Disclaimer: I received the OfficeMax products mentioned in this post from OfficeMax in order to facilitate my review. The items featured in this giveaway are also provided by OfficeMax and will be sent to the winner directly. Opinions expressed in this post are 100% my own. I have not been compensated for this post in any other way.

 

Actions

Information

23 responses

27 07 2013
v4ever

I won’t miss any chance to try new pens! These seems to be very competent products. I especially like the vibrant colors of the highlighters. As for the gel pen, it definitely seems to be a good competitor against G2’s & regular Sarasas. Good job, Office Max! Now time to expend to finer tip sizes…

27 07 2013
dipofink

Hmm why I would like to try these pens- new pens for a new school in a month :)

27 07 2013
heatherwilliamson

Hmm, now you’ve got me curious about the Uni Kuru Toga sicne I’v enever heard about it before [Plebian!] but I certainly would love to try any of these Office Max offering out.

27 07 2013
Art Toys

Oh, those pencils! Colorful stuff like that is quite the magnet for my money! :0)

27 07 2013
mistyfuji

You can never have enough pens, especially cool new ones with amazing colors & textures. My boys would love to take these back to school & hopefully it will encourage them to take more notes!

27 07 2013
JVM

Whoa! Starting the school year with a brand new set of highlighters, pencils and pens will make my post-sabbatical days in grad.school a lot more enjoyable. Thanks for organizing these giveaways!

27 07 2013
Brian Excarnate

I’m excited to try these new products because my son would enjoy the pencils and highlighters.

27 07 2013
Lisa Carr

I’m excited to try the new private brand products because I have 3 sons in school that would love them, and I’m sure the quality is exceptional since OfficeMax is putting their name on them.

27 07 2013
Alli

These look so fun! I’d be excited to try them out because the pen colors are so bright and cheery. I do love gel pens, too. :) Thanks for the chance to win!

28 07 2013
Mattie B

My kids would live to bring these to school next month!

28 07 2013
Dana Rodriguez

I am excited!My fiance owns a painting contacting business and he is always stealing my pens lol

28 07 2013
Erica Y

That’s alot of pens for a giveaway. Thank you and Office Max for doing this!
The pens look very pretty ;)

28 07 2013
Mary

I have a new job and a new office, so new supplies would be great!!

29 07 2013
Antonio R.

We use Staples for our office supplies at work so I would like to try the competition. Thanks

29 07 2013
elm

I would love to test these on some nice 90 gsm ivory paper.

30 07 2013
Kimberley

I would love to play with all the pretty colors!

30 07 2013
Marji

I’m interested in those gel pens. I’m one who actually uses G2s, and I’d like to test out something that’s superior.

31 07 2013
PilotG2.38

I want to see how those gel pens compare to the venerable G2!

1 08 2013
Sarah Price

Looks like lots of fun products and you can never have too many pens, pencils or highlighters!

5 08 2013
Link Love: The Two Weeks Late Edition | The Well-Appointed Desk

[…] OfficeMax Brand Writing Tools Review (via No Pen Intended) […]

9 08 2013
Winnie

I would love to try out the new brand of pens to see how they work for myself, especially with the new school year coming. Fun writing!

15 08 2013
OfficeMax Private Brand Writing Products GIVEAWAY WINNER! | No Pen Intended

[…] everyone who entered this OfficeMax giveaway! I apologize profusely for posting the results late, but in my shoddy defense I spent most of […]

6 09 2014
best phoenix DUI attorney

best phoenix DUI attorney

OfficeMax Private Brand Writing Products – Review & GIVEAWAY! | No Pen Intended

Leave a Reply

