Pilot Dr. Grip Full Black Dual Layer Grip Ballpoint Pen – Black Accents

12 07 2013
Dr. Grip is here with your prescription FOR PAIN! Wait, sorry, that's wrestling. Dr. Grip's prescription is relief from pain.

Dr. Grip is here with your prescription FOR PAIN! Wait, sorry, that’s wrestling. Pen Dr. Grip’s prescription is relief from pain.

Eons ago, in a time before regular disposable income (a time also known as “childhood’), I owned some form of Pilot Dr. Grip writing utensil. The memories are a bit hazy—it could’ve been a pencil, or maybe it was a pen—but either way my writing instrument probably had a Ph.D in writeology (or maybe I’m thinking of the Paper Mate PhD) and because I had no discerning taste I probably loved it. Seeing these new Dr. Grip models in my local pen store, I decided to see how the modern model stacks up against the nostalgia.

"What are you going to do with your degree?" "Become a pen."

“What are you going to do with your degree?” “Become a pen.”

Though there is a statistically significant portion of this pen that isn’t, as the name claims, Full Black, I’m willing to give it a pass. I love the matte black bits, and wish the whole barrel had been made with that material. But what do I know, I’m not paid to design pens.

 I'm paid to ask you where your emergency is, provided your emergency is within a certain Southern town. Also paid to tell police officers to go to your emergencies, and you know, resolve that stuff being emergent. I also send firetrucks and ambulances, tell your friends!

I’m paid to ask you where your emergency is, provided your emergency is within a certain Southern town. Also paid to tell police officers to go to your emergencies, and you know, resolve that stuff being emergent. I also send firetrucks and ambulances, tell your friends!

The grip is supposedly some kind of fancy dual-layer construction which, like pretty much every other deluxe grip invented, seems patently designed to collect lint and debris on its surface. I’m beginning to think this is the weird trade-off for luxury grips. You can sort of get a sense in this picture of the two layers. It’s pretty comfortable, but I like a squishier grip (think Alpha Gel). But it’s undoubtedly a step up from a nothing grip.

It looks less messy than it should because the ink is on me

It looks less messy than it should because the ink is on me

Here’s the part I’m certain beats out whatever Dr. Chumpstick I had in days of yore. This refill is surprisingly smooth. And undeniably black. I tried to compare it to my 0.7mm Pilot Acroball (Pilot’s own supersmooth) and it was no contest; the Dr. Grip was hands-down the winner in terms of ink gliding across the page. Now, it’s possible my Dr. Grip is actually 1.0mm and I’m comparing that orange to the apple of a 0.7mm, or maybe the passage of time and not being regularly used has left my resident Acroball not as smooth as it once was…but this is a fine writing pen and I’d pick up my Dr. Grip a hundred times before I’d pick up my Acroball again, given the choice between the two.

You do this enough times and you'll have ink on your hands too

You do this enough times and you’ll have ink on your hands too

The Dr. Grip is not only refillable, but it’s solid enough to feel like it’s worth refilling. You can either take it apart in the middle, or take it apart utterly and completely because you want to watch the world burn.

1 out of 1 cats approve the Pilot Dr. Grip for superior deliciousness

1 out of 1 cats approve the Pilot Dr. Grip for superior deliciousness

I got this bad boy cheaper at my local pen store than what JetPens is offering, but if you don’t have a local pen store, and don’t want to set foot in a big box office supply store (which some of them surely carry this pen), you can fork over a little extra and get it from JetPens. Either way, it’s worth it.

Pilot Dr. Grip Full Black Dual Layer Grip Ballpoint Pen – Black Accents at JetPens

Pilot Dr. Grip refills also available at JetPens

Actions

Information

11 responses

13 07 2013
PilotG2.38

If that pen wrote like a G2 it would be perfect.

27 08 2013
No Pen Intended

I should see if the 0.38mm G2 refill might find it in its heart to fit in the Dr. Grip body…

15 07 2013
Francisco Durán (@bored_agitated)

You work as an emergency dispatch? I dispatch for a towing company! We do police tows for a couple of police departments. Did you need to get an EMT or similar certification to work?

15 07 2013
No Pen Intended

Awesome! we have a whole rotating list of tow companies, and working night shift i have definitely woken some tow companies up before :)

Don’t know about all centers but for us, no pre certifications required! Our department has extensive training and we use the National Academy Emergency Dispatch Protocols for Police, Fire, and EMS calls. In training we get certified for all 3…I think it works best with the medical calls, because it has easy to use instructions for everything you need, childbirth to CPR to sinking vehicles, and you don’t have to be an EMT or medical professional to be giving people instructions for the help they need while EMS is on the way. :)

24 07 2013
Francisco Durán (@bored_agitated)

do you mind if I ask you a few questions? I was looking for more hours, and it seems like moving laterally into emergency dispatch might be a good idea. I’m not sure if you’d want me to drop the questions here, or on twitter, or over email

24 07 2013
No Pen Intended

Shoot me an email! My email link should be in the sidebar

26 08 2013
Penacious H

I agree with first commenter–using G2 ink in this, or improving the flow of the refills for this pen (which Pilot package calls “supercharged”) would be great. The grip, btw, is much cozier to write with vs the original Dr Grip single layer grip (on the wild multicolor pens, for example). I got it in White also, which I didn’t like as much look wise…more feminine maybe?

26 08 2013
No Pen Intended

I would say “divine”…if a stereotypical angel with fluffy wings descended out of the clouds holding a clipboard in one hand it would undoubtedly have in its other perfectly manicured hand a full white Pilot Dr. Grip

15 01 2014
Pilot Symmetry Ballpoint Pen 0.7mm – Mint Green Body | No Pen Intended

[…] in acceptable mediocrity—I’d put it above cheap, substandard ballpoints but below the Dr. Grip (and it’s not even comparable to a supersmooth ballpoint; don’t make me laugh). […]

8 08 2014
Pilot Dr. Grip Full Black Dual Layer Grip Shaker Mechanical Pencil – 0.5 mm – Blue Accents | No Pen Intended

[…] I think about it, the more I think that once upon a time I had a Dr. Grip mechanical pencil, not a pen when I was […]

1 09 2015
The Patriot Pen | No Pen Intended

[…] common (and thus easy to obtain) while still providing good performance. As I reviewed with the Pilot Dr. Grip pen, this refill is smooth (almost in the realm of the super smooth), sufficiently dark, and held back […]

Leave a Reply

