Uni-ball Signo 207 BLX Retractable Gel Ink Pen – 0.7 mm – 4 of 5 Colors

28 05 2013
No brown-black, sorry!

No brown-black, sorry!

When you’ve got a good pen in your lineup, it’s important to keep the body fresh and modern (or at least keep it from being the pen design equivalent of padded shoulders (or fetid swamp water)). Or, more accurately, it’s important to me, maybe you, and probably absolutely no one else in the general market.

Any scrap of novelty in standard American pens is exciting to me.

Any scrap of novelty in standard American pens is exciting to me.

As soon as I saw these babies at my local office supply store, I snatched them up. I didn’t see brown-black, but red-black, green-black, blue-black, and purple-black were all there. Compared to the regular Signo 207, there are only a few major differences, biggest of all being the BLX clip is plastic instead of metal (presumably so it could be a stealthy matte black).

Yeah, that's definitely cool enough to be worth sacrificing structural integrity.

Yeah, that’s definitely cool enough to be worth sacrificing structural integrity.

I just find plastic clips inherently suspect, as I’m certain all they’re there for is to one day break off. And why isn’t the nose cone the same matte black? Why is it glossy black? Why isn’t everything matte black? Who decides these things?

The brooding Batmanesque colors of the Signo line

The brooding Batmanesque colors of the Signo line

I do like the body; no longer a translucent barrel, the BLX features a color fade to black that isn’t too tacky. The grip is the same as the standard Signo 207.

Now, when can we expect 0.5mm? 0.38mm? Approximately never?

Now, when can we expect 0.5mm? 0.38mm? Approximately never?

One of my biggest problems I’ve had happen when writing samples for reviews with some brands of gel pens is that the dry ink will somehow come off the page onto my hand and get redistributed back on the page. Pentel’s EnerGel line is a particular offender. I didn’t have any of that happen on this writing sample with the Signo 207. The writing is smooth and the colors are gorgeous (this purple-black is my new best friend). The ink is also allegedly resistant to check washing and other such grandiose claims you can find printed on the back of a standard blister pack. Not yet being of criminal mind, I’m not sure how one goes about attempting to wash checks (and I’m pretty sure that’s one of those google searches that gets you put on a watch list), so I can neither confirm nor deny this claim of the ink’s properties in that regard.

And they are technically refillable! (I’m not sure where one necessarily gets such refills though.) The refill size is comparable to the Jetstream retractable or the Zebra Sarasa retractable refills, so you could, for example, put this refill in the body of the Zebra Airfit Jell or the Jetstream Alpha Gel Grip, and have a fantastic hybrid fancy body Signo BLX.

You can find these pens in most big box stores, at my local office supply store (Office Supplies and More), and JetPens also carries them.

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 05 2013
Jackie

I have the purple-black and green-black, and I honestly don’t see as much color with mine as I do in your writing sample. I like the way they write, but the line is pretty bold for me. I wish they would come out with a fine tip.

4 12 2013
TravelLady

Love these pens. I use them all, the purple is my signature. I did however try to find the refills at the same box store I originally purchased them at, and no luck. I had to purchase the blister pack. Funny no brown/black. Luckily, that has not run dry but I did acquire the green/black which I like. Where are the refills?

7 01 2014
FS: Ipod Touch 4th Gen 32GB & 64GB, Uniball Jetstream BLX | Developed

[…] understated enough to use every day, but not quite as boring as black. Here is a review of the Signo 207s w/ BLX ink. The Jetstreams will be similar colors with less intensity and near zero smudging (Signos lay down […]

6 02 2014
Jetstream BLX 1.0mm – Green Black, Blue Black, and Purple Black | No Pen Intended

[…] Excellent use of colors. Better even than the Signo BLX. […]

21 02 2015
technique72

Hi

An absolutely superb and in depth review. Impressive. Love the sketches.

I have been wrestling with my favourite pen for awhile now. I’m going for the 207. It really comes down the grip. It feels more comfortable than the G2 to me.

Leave a Reply

