The Return of No Pen Intended

21 05 2013

You may have noticed (I know it took me a while to notice) that I’ve been on an unofficial, unannounced hiatus. I’m not here to make excuses, but I would like to fill you all in on some of the things I’ve been up to instead of codifying my pen opinions for vast internet consumption. In no particular order:

 

+ I opened my etsy shop!!! I don’t know what I’m doing!!! Please forgive me!!! Also, someone had already taken “nopenintended” as a screen name (the nerve!) so I had to go with npiNotebooks. I’ve got one type of notebook up now, though I’ve also got some sketchbooks already made, waiting in the wings.

+ I learned to run. Turns out running is really hard when you don’t have good motivation, like being chased by a hungry bear or a swarm of enraged bees. It’s also hard to write while running (though not at all hard to write about running, though most of those writings consist of obscenities pegged to the words “absolutely exhausted”). So far, I’ve completed one 5k.

+ I worked a lot of overtime. Gotta make that money, buy them pens (or, more like, pay those taxes, that vet bill, this motorcycle repair shop, etc., etc.)

+ I have been in the process of moving. For two months. It’s complicated, but almost done.

+ I joined our current century and got a smartphone last fall and WOW, it’s amazing how much time I’m able to waste now. Get nothing done in twice the time!

+ I battled an image thief! Wasn’t that hard, once I submitted the proper forms to eBay.

+ I’ve also gone to some writer’s workshops, a pen club meetup, taken way too many cell phone pictures of my cat, and otherwise squandered or slept through all the good picture-taking hours of the day.

What's that? You want some cat pictures?

What’s that? You want some cat pictures?


Now, I’ve got piles of pens to render judgment on (not to mention a small assortment of other office supplies) and a scattered collection of half-completed reviews to gather up and piece together. My goal is AT LEAST one review per week (and, in an ideal world, two reviews per week with a weekend mini review (but let’s not get too crazy too fast)). Let’s get back to having and expressing strong feelings about writing utensils!

Actions

Information

17 responses

21 05 2013
Azizah A. (@GourmetPens)

Welcome back! Well, I must say, you have been far more productive than I’d ever be if I were to take a break, so at least there’s that :) I hope your sweet kitty is okay. I’m always down for cat pictures. :)

27 05 2013
No Pen Intended

:) The kitty is up and running, and garnering noise complaints for her 13 thunderous pounds of cattitude running around at 3 in the morning (which is when I get home from work, I can’t stop her from being excited to see me!)

21 05 2013
Heather W.

So glad that you’re back! You totally crack me up with your sense of humor and writing style. In a good way, of course. Keep those pix of kitty coming. Looking forward to checking out your etsy shop, too. And I agree with Azizah above, you’ve gotten quite a bit done for taking a break.
Welcome back.

21 05 2013
disastrophe

Glad to have you back! Still the only pen blog that manages to be genuinely funny at the same time. :)

21 05 2013
fousheezy

Very happy to see you’re posting again :D

21 05 2013
Aisazia

Ohhh welcome back! Glad to see you posting again! Love the cat pic! Look at them toesies! So sparkly! <333 XD Oh, I'm interested in seeing what other items you'll be posting in your shop. :D What kind of sketchbooks do you have? hehehe Sounds like you've been busy! :D

27 05 2013
No Pen Intended

I love the nail caps — keeps overly affectionate kitty from poking holes in my arms and legs every time she kneads me.
Right now I have two sizes of pocket sketchbook made that I need to post. The paper is typing paper, which is thin but holds ink well and is my current favorite for general sketching

21 05 2013
Arleigh

I’m SO GLAD you’re back! Your blog is the most entertaining pen blog I read. I just started running too. Any tips for beginners? :) :) :)

27 05 2013
No Pen Intended

Hmmm I really liked using the C25K free app to first learn how to run, and then I followed the Run Less Run More running schedule to get sort of slightly faster (I’m still super slow). I’d say pick a 5k that’s several months out (preferably something that supports causes you like, like my 5k was for the local society for prevention of cruelty to animals, a local police officer memorial, and a local women’s group) so you have a goal to work toward that will keep you motivated to run.

22 05 2013
trixieindixie

I hope you got the stolen image issue worked out with eBay – there’s nothing so annoying as seeing your own creation being used by some random stranger to sell their wares….

27 05 2013
No Pen Intended

Yeah, luckily a fan pointed it out to me, and once I got the hang of the ebay form, it’s been easy to submit. All the posts have been deleted by ebay, now to see if he tries to use the image again…

27 05 2013
trixieindixie

I was that fan ;-) Glad that worked out!

23 05 2013
Tommy D

Oh, how I’ve missed you, m’Lady!

23 05 2013
Heather

Welcome back! No Pen Intended is one of my favourite pen blogs, and I have missed your posts popping up in my feed reader. Love your sense of humour and the witty captions that you usually have on your photos. I’m looking forward to your new reviews!

20 07 2013
suplementos online

Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a honest price?
Many thanks, I appreciate it!

25 07 2013
Fábricas Chinesas

It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from our discussion made at this place.

2 08 2013
Tanesha

It’s an awesome paragraph in favor of all the web people; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

