Preview: Esterbrook What Have I Done

18 02 2013

20130218-050946.jpg
I couldn’t sleep, so I made myself a sandwich. I still couldn’t sleep, so I decided to try to do something about an Esterbrook nib that was not satisfyingly smooth enough. Armed with a Richard Binder nib smoothing kit and just enough knowledge to be dangerous, I started out with a Gregg 1555 nib and ended up losing all the tipping material (I went to clean off some debris around the tip; suddenly, no tip). The pen is now nearly italic, but at least it writes smoothly!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 02 2013
PilotG2.38

I tried working on the twist mechanism of a titanium Retro 51 Tornado once…with less successful results.

26 05 2013
ingridhansen2012

I’ve also done a little too much nib smoothing and removed a little to much tip material. I’ve since gotten better at it and can reliably smooth a nib into being better performers.

Leave a Reply

