Noodler’s Ink Piston Fill Flex Nib Jade Fountain Pen

20 11 2011

With Noodler's Squeteague ink!

I’ll try to keep this short and sweet, since I’ve already reviewed a different colored model of the Noodler’s Flex Nib fountain pen before. This post also features Noodler’s Squeteague ink, an ink for which I have devised over half a dozen ways to mispronounce its name. Of the ink, I will say it appears a bit darker, more blue-green-black, than it appears on my computer screen on the Goldspot website (there it appears what seems to me like a dark teal?).

Things I do on my lunch break: sit on a bench in the parking lot. Prop pens on my boots, boots that I am, in fact, wearing. Take pictures. Get funny looks from people going into the building.

The picture of the Jade model on the Goldspot website, from what I can remember, seemed more like a Squeteague teal blue-green-black marbled color than the Jade shamrock with white stripes marbled color that I received. But this is the thrill and excitement of such strange and unique resin patterns. The color has since grown on me. And, this is the first time (out of 3 Noodler’s pens in all) that I’ve received a little instructions sheet with my pen. I said to myself, of such a rarity, “I’d better put this in a safe place,” and have since promptly lost the directions in the swath of pen paraphernalia scattered about my room. It will probably be months before I see that piece of paper again.

It's just like the Pumpkin Poltergeist! Only different colors and on top of footwear!

I wondered if there would be any structural differences in this new batch of flex nib pens. The nib seemed to be exactly the same.

It even retained my inability to keep a nib clean

And it writes just as wonderfully as my other Noodler’s flex nib (also, I have gained 24% more knowledge in what I am doing with a flex nib fountain pen, so I can confirm that at my current skill level, both pens write equally well). There is a nice tactile sensation to the writing—you can feel the nib moving along the paper. It’s not scratchy, nor is it butter-glide smooth. It’s this still difficult to describe phenomenon that I find equally enjoyable in a fountain pen. I still don’t have total control of my line variation while writing in a way that I might deliberately manipulate my line thicknesses mid-character, but I am better now at writing with pressure. Let’s see some pressure in action!

If I keep it up, this carbon-based benchform will turn into a diamond.

That’s possibly and/or allegedly a 1.5mm line I’m about to make there. I wonder how this pen will hold up over time applying pressure like that. Will it ever damage the pen? Maybe I should stop all this pessimistic worry-wondering and just trust that Noodler’s knows best!

What the nib looks like when not writing on 4 inch thick minimally processed paper (also known as a wooden bench)

But wait! Aha! Here is the one and only difference I’ve been able to find so far. This round of pens has a different plastic feed than the last round. Observe:

BUT WHAT DOES IT MEAN???

I have no idea what it means. I have not yet taken out the new feed to compare it to the old one to see if any secret difference is hidden beneath the nib. Maybe it’s all aesthetic. I do like the look of the new feed better. Looks more streamlined, more aerodynamic (you know, in case I need to use the pen as a blow dart).

Disclaimer: Goldspot does not offer complimentary boots with purchase of Noodler's fountain pens.

Sadly, it appears that all of the Jade models are sold out. HOWEVER! Nine other color models remain in stock in the Noodler’s Flex Nib fountain pen line. Buy them while you can! They have a tendency to fly right out of stock the moment Goldspot receives a new batch. The fact that any remain at the time of this writing is either ludicrous, or indicative of this most recent batch being of a massive quantity. Regardless! This is a fun pen at a great price (and as always, the Noodler’s ink I used is fantastic).

Noodler’s Ink Piston Fill Flex Nib Fountain Pens at Goldspot Pens

Noodler’s Squeteague Bottled Ink 3 oz. at Goldspot Pens

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 11 2011
Peninkcillin

Excellent (and funny) review! Really appreciate the nice pictures. In a couple of weeks or so I should finally post a review of my own Noodler’s flex. Mine is the blue version.

Are you buying the new Ahab flex?

20 11 2011
Julie (O-kami)

wonderful review – informative AND funny – LOL

20 11 2011
Economy Pens

I love how the doodles look with this color of ink. I’ve been holding off on getting one of the flex pens, but it looks like so much fun to use.

Thanks for the review!

21 11 2011
Monday Grab Bag of Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

[…] Links – The Pen Addict Crónicas Estilográficas: Prera uni-ball Jetstream Roller Ball Pen Noodler’s Ink Piston Fill Flex Nib Jade Fountain Pen Parker Limited Edition Duofold Senior Brown Fountain Pen seize the dave: pen review: visconti homo […]

21 11 2011
penemuel

I love your reviews because of the sketches you do each time, especially the pretty eyes. :D

You’re a leftie, right? (*facepalm*) Do you find it hard to write at all with this pen? I keep thinking I want to get one, but then I think about how fountain pens as a whole are more problematic for lefties, and how flex pens are probably even more so…

3 02 2012
Noodler’s Ink Ahab Fountain Pen Lapis Inferno Flex Nib « No Pen Intended

[…] spite of my inability to manipulate flex nibs in a way that creates true beauty, I still keep buying Noodler’s flex nib pens. Can this one really be that different? Yes. It can. A real […]

Leave a Reply

