Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.7 mm – Alpha Gel Grip Series – Silver Body

20 07 2011

Jetstream is just about the only black ink I still love right now (I am on a colored ink kick, what can I say)

I believe I mentioned to Brad at JetPens that my new job involves inordinate amounts of training and excessive amounts of note-taking, and that my hand was probably going to fall off, explode from callouses, and shatter at a molecular level. Or maybe I just said that I thought the alpha gel grip was great, and Jetstreams were great, and we could not possibly live in a universe where the combination of the two is anything but greatness squared; given these facts, should JetPens find it in its heart to bestow such an item unto me, I would be so grateful that not even the most extravagant of metaphors, no matter how many mythical creatures I invoked in said metaphor, would properly convey my thanks. Maybe I’m exaggerating, but the facts are these: JetPens did send me such a pen, my gratitude is at an all-time high, and this pen really is greatness squared.

Weep. WEEP, FOR IT IS BEAUTY AND IT CAN EXIST IN YOUR HAND

I won’t dwell on writing performance; I’ve reviewed the Jetstream 0.5mm before, and there isn’t much that differs between the two except that the 0.7mm, being larger, is ever so slightly smoother. They take the exact same kind of refill, these two models, so if you don’t care for the 0.7mm you can easily swap it out.

Ok, so maybe it's not the MOST beautiful pen. BUT IT PERFORMS BEAUTIFULLY

The design, I admit, leaves me a little perplexed. I like the top half. I like the bottom half. But I keep getting the strange feeling that their designs were generated by giving two separate and isolated design teams a vague set of parameters (“silver. white. classy”), then taking the top half of one team’s design and adding it to the bottom half from the other team. Maybe if the grip were a different color, like a pale blue? Maybe I just can’t handle white and off-white on the same pen. I don’t know. But to be honest, I don’t care. Is this what infatuation is like?

The grip could be puke green for all I care; doesn't change the fact that it is the perfect amount of squishy

Being almost entirely metal, the Alpha Gel Grip Jetstream has a nice weight in the hand. The clip seems reasonably sturdy (though I still prefer a hinged clip), and it clicks just like a pen should. Like every good grip, the alpha gel has an almost supernatural ability to attract cat hair, dust, food crumbs, and other little bits of debris that like to populate purses and pockets, but it’s easy to wipe off with a damp napkin, or, for the uncouth, a bit of spit on your thumb.

I almost wish that more of the pen were covered with the Alpha Gel grip; the gnarled way I hold a pen causes pressure on the end of my third finger and in the crook between my forefinger and thumb. It would probably look really weird, but I don’t think I’d complain if there were an inch more grip to the pen.

Gaze into the Alpha Gel Grip. Become one with the Alpha Gel Grip. You need the Alpha Gel Grip. You ARE the Alpha Gel Grip.

Whether or not the Alpha Gel grip is the One You’ve Been Searching For depends on your preferences. For me, if the grip is too squishy, with a firm grip you just end up holding the barrel, with a bunch of fancy grip piled around the edges of your fingers. But if the grip is too firm, you might as well not have a grip on the pen at all. I find that the Alpha Gel grip strikes the perfect balance; it cushions, but has enough firmness that all grip doesn’t flee from beneath your fingers.

This pen and my Kuru Toga Alpha Gel are now my designated test-taking/oh-heck-I'm-gonna-be-doing-way-too-much-writing instruments

As far as price goes, I think it’s well worth it. You’re paying for a lot of metal (sturdy) and a very nice grip (squishy). It would be nice if you could buy a replacement grip in case you wear the current one out (though I don’t know how likely it is to wear out), but I don’t think that’s currently an option. If you’re like me, and any nonstop writing effort that lasts for more than ten minutes starts shunting your hand into a deformed world of pain from the amount of furious concentration you instinctively devote to your grip muscles, then this pen is worth it at any price. I easily foresee more of these, perhaps the black body, finding their way into my JetPens cart. And if colored grips come out? That will be my Kryptonite.

Note: If you buy one of these and are not satisfied, please send it to me. I would be glad to take it off your hands.

Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.7 mm – Alpha Gel Grip Series – Silver Body at JetPens

Actions

Information

23 responses

21 07 2011
simplytrece

Chuckled my way thru this post! Absolutely too funny!! I am one with the pen. . .

24 07 2011
Urban

Hey, nice review.

Have you tried the
Pilot Dr. Grip Equilibrium (Center of gravity or G-Spec in some countries)?

I’m asking because that pen also has a special grip.

http://www.cultpens.com/acatalog/Pilot_Dr_Grip.html

http://www.jetpens.com/Pilot-Dr.-Grip-G-Spec-Ballpoint-Pen-0.7-mm-Black-Flash-Body/pd/3083

27 08 2011
No Pen Intended

Hmm, I have not. But I like the way it looks. Onto the wish list it goes!

27 07 2011
azulparsnip

my pale pink one came yesterday…..I love it.

29 07 2011
Pentel Vicuna Super Smooth 2 Color 0.7 mm Ballpoint Multi Pen + 0.5 mm Pencil – Sky Blue Body « No Pen Intended

[…] the recent batch of goodies JetPens sent me. Poor thing got overshadowed by my excitement over the Jetstream alpha gel grip and the new Pilot Petit series. Sky blue is a great color, just not as exciting as electric purple […]

8 08 2011
August Carnival of Pen, Pencil and Paper is here! | Peaceable Writer

[…] P presents Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.7 mm – Alpha Gel Grip Series ? Silver Body posted at No Pen […]

24 11 2011
Holiday Gift Guide — AND GIVEAWAY! « No Pen Intended

[…] have my favorite mechanical pencil without my favorite ballpoint pen. As an added bonus, I have reviewed this one before! This body takes any size Jetstream retractable refill (I currently have the 0.5mm […]

12 01 2012
Yoropen Standard Ballpoint Pen « No Pen Intended

[…] only complaint is that I wish the grip were a little softer. If this grip were made with Uni-ball’s alpha gel—man we would be in SERIOUS business. I’d be selling those pens like hotcakes on a […]

3 03 2012
Sharpie Liquid Pencil « No Pen Intended

[…] end of the visual light spectrum all the way into the ultraviolet; I will still be excited to buy yet another iteration of the Jetstream. But the Sharpie Liquid Pencil? If I weren’t so gullibly pen-crazy and they hadn’t been […]

17 05 2012
Uni-ball Jetstream Color Series Ballpoint Pens – 0.5mm – Light Blue & Purple « No Pen Intended

[…] not particularly subtle when it comes to my feelings about the Jetstream line of pens. I constantly shoehorn in mentions of them. I rank them somewhere between a writing […]

4 08 2012
Zebra Airfit LT Ballpoint Pen with Push Grip – 0.7 mm – Pearl Green Body – Black Ink « No Pen Intended

[…] as would having a deluxe version of the Surari (comparable to the Jetstream, which has quite the snazzy deluxe version). It’s a good pen, but it could be better. AIRFIT BATTLE! Featuring adorable cell phone charm […]

12 11 2012
Jennifer

I found that the gel grip didn’t go far enough down for me. I guess I hold my pen abnormally close to the end. I thought it’d be the pen of my dreams, but alas, my search continues. I think it’s back to the basic series for me.

28 05 2013
Uni-ball Signo 207 BLX Retractable Gel Ink Pen – 0.7 mm – 4 of 5 Colors | No Pen Intended

[…] refills, so you could, for example, put this refill in the body of the Zebra Airfit Jell or the Jetstream Alpha Gel Grip, and have a fantastic hybrid fancy body Signo […]

12 07 2013
Pilot Dr. Grip Full Black Dual Layer Grip Ballpoint Pen – Black Accents | No Pen Intended

[…] this picture of the two layers. It’s pretty comfortable, but I like a squishier grip (think Alpha Gel). But it’s undoubtedly a step up from a nothing […]

3 08 2013
Ink Drop Soup: Category Killers | No Pen Intended

[…] Ballpoint Pen: Uni Jetstream […]

24 08 2013
Ink Drop Soup: The Most Awful Jetstream | No Pen Intended

[…] For a cheaper Jetstream Alpha Gel, take 1 Uni Signo 207 Premier body + 1 Jetstream RT style refill of your choice = squishy cushy […]

6 02 2014
Jetstream BLX 1.0mm – Green Black, Blue Black, and Purple Black | No Pen Intended

[…] so I can buy?”) and brought another Jetstream into my life. Would it be like the glorious Jetstream standard, or would it be a crushing disappointment like the […]

9 04 2014
Nancy J

I have been reading this website for the last hour I am glad my manger has not looked my way :o.. Really good information for fulltime office/full time student !. Thank you much.. I always looking for that perfect pen!. :)

9 04 2014
No Pen Intended

If you get caught by your manager, say you’re doing research to improve office productivity! :)

19 04 2014
Uni Jetstream 4&1 4 Color Ballpoint Multi Pen and Pencil – Purple | No Pen Intended

[…] is metal, with a nice grippy rubber on top (though it would be PHENOMENAL to have the grip be Alpha Gel instead, that would probably make the pen unbearably wide, and would collect more debris than this […]

29 05 2014
Uni Jetstream Prime 3 Color Ballpoint Multi Pen – 0.7 mm – Navy Body | No Pen Intended

[…] into the base of my thumb. Maybe adding a regular grip would do nothing to alleviate this, but an Alpha Gel Grip? What you’d lose in svelte aesthetics you’d gain in heavenly grip comfort. Maybe if I […]

30 06 2015
Helen J. Gauperaa

Hi, I’m just wondering if you think the 0.5mm refill would work with the 1.0mm pen body? I saw above you could swap lower diameter refills, but just wondering with this.
Oh, I also read some reports that said that the Jetstreams produced in the past 1-2 years aren’t as good (ink quality/blotchiness and flow) – what do you think? Thanks!

12 08 2015
Nick

Quite an amusing review! The only thing that bothers me is that I find the grip is a little too high. If I grip it normally, my fingers will be right on the edge of the grip. I do have small hands so that might be why I hold a pen lower than others.

Leave a Reply

