Zebra Sarasa Push Clip Gel Ink Pen – 0.3 mm in Blue-Black and Purple

11 02 2011

Look at all this delicate lineage. Not hereditary lineage, I mean...actual...lines. Lineination. Linetasticality.

I figured it was high time to get back to basics, basics being defined as metaphorically chewing your ear off (typing your eyeballs off?) with tales of pens I absolutely love. Why, hello there, Zebra Sarasa Push Clip; I do believe you qualify for this.

This week, reality has decided that the best way to nearly accurately represent the color of the pens is for the paper to look...pink. Fine. We'll say it's a premature salute to a silly holiday. That holiday being known as Pinksgiving Dayween.

The Push Clip gel pen is one of the cheaper gel pens JetPens offers, but don’t be put off by affordability–this is a great pen. The body is a lightweight plastic with a rubber grip–pretty no frills in this department. I haven’t been able to beat these up long enough to give you an idea of what kind of durability this plastic holds, but c’mon. This pen costs $1.50. It could break after a month and I’d still feel like I was getting my money’s worth (for the record, I’ve had these about a month, but they do not seem on any kind of course toward breaking).

WILD CLIPPING ACTION

This pen has two big draws for me, the first being a dead giveaway in the name–the clip.

I don't actually recommend doing this.

I normally don’t use pen clips because I’m afraid I’ll break them. They always seem so fragile and plasticky. The exception to this is clips with hinges, like the Push Clip here–these pens are made for clipping. And that, my friend, is just what I do with them. I clip them on my books, my fingers, my face, my wallet, whatever. I’m sure I’ll eventually break one of these clips trying to push the boundaries of just what I can and can’t clip these pens onto, but the pen will still be useful, and if I really want the clip it’s not much coin off my purse to get another one.

The second stand-out feature of this pen is just what you’d expect from a pen–how it writes. This 0.3mm gel pen writes thin, but never feels scratchy. It isn’t jetstream-butter-smooth, but I’ve never felt my writing performance hindered by the fact that this pen is an 0.3mm rather than, say, an 0.5mm.

No stabbing, no blobbing, and no roughhouse mobbing.

I love using this pen, for writing and sketching. When I write, my handwriting looks almost halfway decent, and the thinness of line is excellent for sketching, shading, doodling, and just generally making marks on the page. I’ve never had the ink skip or blob or call me bad names. I especially like the use of the ^ shape for the tip of the pen, rather than a | shape. This is just a personal preference (/accidentally stabbed myself with a Hi-Tec-C-once); there are certainly uses for needle-tipped fineline pens. Uses which I will surely expound upon when I’m reviewing a needle-tipped pen. The main thing I like about the ^ shape is that it feels sturdier, like I can use this as a workhorse kind of pen. I have no problem quickly jotting things down with this pen–nothing in the micro-tip construction slows down the writing process. I feel like this can be a problem with some micro-tip pens, but it’s not a problem here.

The ink comes in very rich colors that accurately match the accents on the pen itself (though I would disagree with Zebra; this is more of a fuchsia or heliotrope than a purple). The plunger makes a very satisfying click. Nothing rattles when I write. I…I’m trying, really I am, but I can’t think of anything I don’t like about these two pens. If you like pens of 0.5mm and below, and don’t already own a Zebra Sarasa Push Clip, you really need to evaluate your life, and fix this situation.

CUE DRAMATIC ITALIAN LOVE SONGS TO THE SWEET WASHING MELODIES OF HEIRLOOM ACCORDIONS.


Zebra Sarasa Push Clip Gel Ink Pen – 0.3 mm – Purple at JetPens

Zebra Sarasa Push Clip Gel Ink Pen – 0.3 mm – Blue Black at JetPens

Actions

Information

16 responses

11 02 2011
Connie

I would like to marry your photo commentary.

26 02 2011
No Pen Intended

My photo commentary would like to propose, but it dropped the ring down a black hole of poor lighting conditions. Perhaps a metaphorical ring would suffice? Or perhaps several pictures of pens arranged in the shape of a ring…

11 02 2011
John M.

This is my number one pen right (write?) now. I carry a Black and a Blue-Black everyday.

26 02 2011
No Pen Intended

I think the only thing that could make this pen better is if they carried it in stores where I live, or on the corporate website my office orders from. I’ve converted almost everyone to Jetstreams now; I wonder if they could find a place in their hearts for TWO awesome pens…

14 02 2011
AK

Is your photo commentary into polygamy?

26 02 2011
No Pen Intended

My photo commentary does not romantically discriminate based on age, sex, race, gender, religion, species, or number. Especially not number. :D

14 02 2011
Weekly Wrap | PencilWrap.com

[…] Zebra Sarasa Push Clip Gel Ink Pen-0.3mm in Blue-Black and Purple – No Pen Intended (My favorite Pen at the moment) […]

16 02 2011
obsidianfactory

Loved the review! (The photos were so interesting; especially the one you did not recommend — I suspect dangerous pen-gymnastics or pen-yoga?) Keep writing ^_^

P.S. I love Pilot Hi-Tec-C but I didn’t initially get the “^” and “|” shapes until I noticed the stabbing part and saw the pics better — yup, that pen is NEEDLE point.

26 02 2011
No Pen Intended

Thanks! :D

So, is the ^ shape called the needle point, or is the | shape called the needle point? I need, say, a poster diagramming what all the different parts of a pen are called…

15 06 2011
ben

I’m pretty sure ^ is a conical point and | is a needle point :)

22 09 2011
Zebra Airfit Jell Gel Ink Pen with Push Grip – 0.5 mm – Yellow Orange Body « No Pen Intended

[…] clip is an even better version of the one found the Zebra Sarasa Push Clip, which I already thought was the cat’s meowing at the bee’s knees. This clip style is […]

16 04 2012
Nicole Aptekar (@nicoles)

Thanks for this review! I picked up a couple of these at MaiDo (local japanese stationery store) and distributed them around to some friends, who all love them dearly. I tried the jetstreams there as well, and they didn’t seem to write quite as smoothly! Perhaps I am a failure. I bought one anyway, I’ll keep trying!

Anyhow, I’m excited to have some cheaper pens to go alongside my daily carry Ohto Tasche fountain pen. (Admittedly, not that spendy either)

28 04 2012
The Zebra Sarasa – Joshua Goodwin

[…] clip” version, which differs from its cousin in a few ways, not least of which is the different and unusual clip. I think it’s also available in a few more different point sizes – such as […]

8 06 2012
Emilie St.Hilaire (@Emiliest)

I dislike the Sarasa CLIP! The old version that was just an attached clip was better – I don’t actually care about clips but they changed their ink recipe. I am so heartbroken that all the stores are now selling these awful zebra clip pens instead of the old 0.7 gel inks. My drawings just aren’t the same. This thin tip scratches the page and I don’t get smooth colour coverage. Try to find the old version (I’ve seen it online still) and try for yourself. There also used to be a 0.5 which was nice, but I only found that in South Korea.

4 08 2012
Zebra Airfit LT Ballpoint Pen with Push Grip – 0.7 mm – Pearl Green Body – Black Ink « No Pen Intended

[…] biased. I’m a HUGE fan of the clip on the Zebra Sarasa Push Clip. Really disappointed it didn’t put in an appearance on a pen of the same size. I’m […]

29 01 2014
Zebra Prefill 3 Color Multi Pen | No Pen Intended

[…] thing going for the Zebra Prefill is probably this clip. Cribbed from their Sarasa Push Clip, Airfit Jell, and Surari 4C multi pen, its hinged clips pinch right on my heartstrings. Love a […]

Leave a Reply

