Pilot Envelope Address Writing Gel Ink Pens – Broad and Extra Fine

14 01 2011

All the inanity you know and love; all you need to do is click on it.

I cannot remember why I decided to buy these pens. Maybe it was the promise of dark and shiny lines. Or the fact that they were only $1.80 each. Probably the latter.

They are exactly what you'd expect for $1.80

It’s a simple, lightweight, plastic pen. No surprises here.

WHOOOOAAAAA IT IS absolutely usual.

These pens sort of look like what I’d imagine some cute little post office stocking up on. Not really what I’d imagine being billed as for postcard writing. But, foolishly, I didn’t test this out on a postcard. Whoops.

The grip of the pen is just smooth, hard plastic; nothing remarkable, nothing much comfortable. I would think that after a while, writing postcards with this pen would start to hurt your hand.

Careful, people. Watch your eyes. These are...well, not actually that sharp.

The ink has a nice smell to it, and the pens are both smooth rollers. The broad tip rollerball, however, did squeak a lot when I was writing, which I think would eventually drive me nuts if I were using it to write hundreds of postcards.

Michelangelo's iconic Pen giving life to Pen, painted over by the toilets near the Sistine Chapel.

 
So the body of the pen is nothing special, but I will give a few props to the ink. It really is shiny, and dark, and smells of almond extract.
 
 
 

If you run out of shoe black, you can always just color with this pen on your shoes.

I can see this pen having some artistic applications, but my handwriting looks abysmal, and if your paper isn’t absorbent (like the Dot Grid Journal I use for my writing samples) then the ink does take a little while to dry (and if your paper is absorbent, then the broad tip will bleed through the page)–just long enough to be a hazard to the left-handed individual, especially with ink so thick and dark as this ink is. I think the ink is fun enough, and the pen cheap enough, to have made it worth the money, but this probably won’t be a highly-used pen in my collection.

Pilot Envelope Address Writing Gel Ink Pen – Broad at JetPens

Pilot Envelope Address Writing Gel Ink Pen – Extra Fine at JetPens

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2011
John M.

Great review. I think it’s the first time that I’ve read a review that commented on the smell of the ink of a gel pen. I like that. I wasn’t too impressed when I checked this pen out too but I think their draw to some is the fact that they are waterproof. (or at least purport to be)

4 05 2013
dreambox 500s cccam yükleme

Hi there to every , since I am genuinely eager of reading this blog’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It carries fastidious information.

Leave a Reply

