Ink Drop Soup: Shout out to Michigan!

23 05 2014

If you follow my Twitter, you’d have pieced together that I recently visited Michigan. For those of you not familiar with Michigan, it is a state made up of two landmasses (one shaped like a mitten, one shaped like a shark) that borders “lakes” so large you will frequently refer to them as oceans. There are waves. There is sand. There are shells. There is water stretching out to the horizon. What more do you need to qualify as an ocean?

Is it salt? I have salt. Here, I'll give you some salt.

Is it salt? I have salt. Here, I’ll give you some salt.

I had originally planned to lobby for a Lake Michigan circle tour (or perhaps half circle tour, cutting back across the lake by ferry), with the nefarious pen-related goal of visiting the Anderson’s pen store in Wisconsin, but it was still solidly winter when we got north of the 45th parallel. There was snow. Snow in May is a terrifying prospect for a North Carolinian.

Hiiiii, random Michigan lady! I assume you are a Michigander because you were appropriately dressed for the weather. I envied your coat, as I had to double up with discount hoodies and my running windbreaker. Plus a hat and gloves I got from a hardware store in Mackinaw City. I wasn't trying to film you; you just got in the way of my southern wonderment of snow.

Hiiiii, random Michigan lady! I assume you are a Michigander because you were appropriately dressed for the weather. I envied your coat, as I had to double up with discount hoodies and my running windbreaker. Plus a hat and gloves I got from a hardware store in Mackinaw City. I wasn’t trying to film you; you just got in the way of my southern wonderment of snow.

On the pen related front and entirely related to this trip, are any quality pen makers doing anything with pen bodies and Great Lakes stones?

I have a lot more where these came from

I have a lot more where these came from

Between the fossils and the striped agates and whatnot? I’ve seen Great Lakes stone jewelry, but what about a nice fountain pen with a stone set on top of the cap? If anyone needs stones to test on and want someone to review the result, I have an excess of both rocks and opinions.

 

I’m trying to get my reviewing rhythm back up to speed (I have more responsibilities now at work, which is exciting but has curtailed my ability to work on reviews in my downtime), and we are within 10 reviews of 200! Which means a giveaway! Of lots of things I’ve acquired! Hooray! Also, the Triangle Pen Show is coming up (next week?) and I will be there (mostly Friday) so look on my Twitter and if you’ll be there, feel free to find me and say hi! That’s about all the pen news that’s fit to print for now. Soon, reviews.

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 05 2014
Jackie

I hope to make it to the Triangle Pen Show, but probably on Saturday or Sunday.

23 05 2014
No Pen Intended

Saturday and Sunday I’ll see if I can drop by before work :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

