Pilot Vanishing Point Fountain Pen – White Body, Black M Nib

21 02 2014
words

Diamine Ancient Copper is an awesome color

Since my first Pilot Vanishing Point, I’ve come around more on my opinion of this pen, which should be abundantly apparent when you consider that I now own four of them. For this review, I’ll focus on my most recent addition, a white body Vanishing Point with black medium nib.

words

White like the snow we got stuck under last week

The look has grown on my over time. The aesthetic is clean and modern, while still being high class. There is a white body available with matte black accents instead of the rhodium, but I can tell you that the matte black finish isn’t as durable. An everyday pen needs to be durable. The black nib, though subtle, gives me that sporty white/black look without sacrificing the pen’s general usability.

words

Black like the night. I am the night. I am Batman.

I still don’t necessarily like having the clip on the writing end, but I understand why it has to be there. You get used to it. The payoff is having a retractable fountain pen, which is the greatest convenience a fountain pen can have. This is my #1 work pen of choice.

words

18K black plated stylish magic, with a few spots of dried ink

I own broad, medium, and fine Vanishing Point nibs, and the medium is by far my favorite for everyday work use. The nib is tactile on the page, smooth but not so smooth that it’s out of control. I had no finicky problems like I did with my broad nib (which has behaved well since I took it to Richard Binder)—the flow is good, and the ink doesn’t stop until the pen is totally out of ink.

words

Fancy writing just waiting to happen

The Vanishing Point is attractive, reliable, and convenient. It’s a bit premium-priced, but with no competition in terms of other retractable fountain pens, it’s worth the price for such a high-quality pen.

Looking around briefly, it looks like the best way to get this combo online is through the Goulet Pen Company. Here’s the white body, with your choice of size and color nib. I got mine from Office Supplies and More, which sort of requires you to either show up in person (and probably call ahead and tell him what you want, etc.—he might have to order it) or catch him out at one of the pen shows.

Actions

Information

12 responses

22 02 2014
jmreekes

Nice looking pen. Another NC pen addict. I’ve bought a couple Lamy Swifts & a Retro 51 Tornado Stealth rollerball from Office Supplies & More

22 02 2014
Yochanan Israel

Good review, great ink color. Did Vp come in regular box or matte black type box?

22 02 2014
No Pen Intended

Well to be honest I’m not sure! I’m so sick of spare boxes that I’ve just been telling my local pen store to keep whatever box the pen comes in and just give me the goods :)

23 02 2014
Mike Dudek (@ClickyPost)

Super cool!

23 02 2014
Mike

Office Supplies and More is pretty close to me. Lookit all us NC pen fans! I’m glad you like your VP better than I like mine

1 03 2014
No Pen Intended

It took a while for the VP to grow on me. The broad nib I had to have worked on by Richard Binder before it would behave exactly as I wanted. The fine nib I still go back and forth on—unless I have a quick drying ink loaded (but not so quick drying that it gunks up the pen) then it tends not to dry fast enough for my tastes. But the medium nibs have been just right for me. What VP (body color/nib size) do you have?? Lefty or righty?

1 03 2014
clarence

Do I spy a Clairefontaine notebook in the above pix? I’m really tempted to buy a VP. The medium nib would be my choice as well, and I don’t have a (solid) gold-nibbed fountain pen yet. Any give when writing with yours? The second photo of your pen makes me think of a penguin underwater speeding away from a Great White. Go Batman, go!

1 03 2014
No Pen Intended

:) haha what a great mental image! Yes, that would be one of my bazillion Clairefontaines! I love the medium size (I forget what it’s called exactly size-wise, maybe approximately A5 size?) for general everyday life notes, though I have recently switched to a hardback Leuchtturm1917 of comparable size (not quite as nice paper, but faster dry times…I should really review this notebook actually!).

I would highly recommend trying out a VP before you buy one. It took probably months and months, in which I would visit my local pen store for other reasons, play with the VP on display, decide not to get one, before I finally changed my mind. There is a little bit of give with the nib; it’s not something I notice while writing, but if I stop and put some pressure on the nib you can clearly see broader strokes being made. But my very light pressure, overhanded writing style is not the kind that typically elicits flex-like behavior from my nibs, so it might have more give for someone else depending on writing style

12 03 2014
Lamy Dialog 3 Fountain Pen – Fine Nib – Black Body | No Pen Intended

[…] nib performance, the Lamy edges out the Vanishing Point on smoothness. In clip comfort, the Dialog’s low profile can’t be beat. But the Vanishing Point […]

14 03 2014
Mini Review: Pilot Vanishing Point Matte Black Body | No Pen Intended

[…] use), but I’m not going to re-review the M nib just because it’s a different color (refer to this Vanishing Point review with the black plated nib; they behave the same). This will focus instead on the infuriating […]

21 03 2014
Pilot Metropolitan Fountain Pen – Medium Nib – Black Crocodile Body | No Pen Intended

[…] nearly any paper); the Super Quality style used on the Plumix, Penmanship, and Prera; and the gold Vanishing Point nibs). This nib is new to me, and it’s pretty great. The sweet spot is oh-so-sweet, a […]

28 10 2014
Ink Drop Soup: The Terror & Triumph of the Bent Nib | No Pen Intended

[…] don’t know what happened. I don’t know how it happened. Wednesday, my Pilot Vanishing Point M nib was completely normal. Friday, I clicked the plunger and the nib came out looking like […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

