Grandluxe Dialogue Quotes Soft Note Book – Red A5 – Review & GIVEAWAY!

16 02 2014

Big, floppy notebooks aren’t really my thing, so this will be both a review and a giveaway. Hopefully someone else will get more enjoyment out of it. Thanks to Grandluxe for providing this sample!

Red is apparently my mortal enemy, as evidenced by my lack of ability to edit all these reds to the same hue. I really need to start taking pictures in the sunshine, instead of the vampiristic shadows available on my balcony...

Red is apparently my mortal enemy, as evidenced by my lack of ability to edit all these reds to the same hue. I really need to start taking pictures in the sunshine, instead of the vampiristic shadows available on my balcony…

The Dialogue Quotes features a soft-back polyurethane cover with matching elastic band (smart move, including the elastic band), with a quote-embossed cover.

TIME quote not to be confused with TIME magazine. No affiliation

TIME quote not to be confused with TIME magazine. No affiliation

The embossing is very nicely done. The whole notebook looks nice, but being softcover I worry it would get too badly roughed up in my prolonged possession.

This might be the most inaccurate color adjustment yet. Or maybe it's just this screen. MAYBE THIS PICTURE IS ACTUALLY PERFECT. But I'm going to wager a big ole probably not, since this paper is supposed to be cream colored.

This might be the most inaccurate color adjustment yet. Or maybe it’s just this screen. MAYBE THIS PICTURE IS ACTUALLY PERFECT. But I’m going to wager a big ole probably not, since this paper is supposed to be cream colored.

The cream-colored paper is lined on the front and blank on the back, though I wonder if this is just because bleedthrough is so bad that you can only use one side of the page. The paper drinks up the ink, spreads it out—at least for liquid ink pens like fountain pens and rollerballs. The upshot is fast drying time, but the writing looks terrible up close—liquid ink lines are fuzzy, not crisp. For ballpoint pens and gel ink pens, the paper is no problem, but if you like liquid ink, then this might not be the notebook for you.

Cutting board, table, chair, railing, apartment siding, and nature not included in giveaway

Cutting board, table, chair, railing, apartment siding, and nature not included in giveaway

Now, in honor of the day after the day after half-priced-chocolates-day (I always thought the 15th was half-priced chocolates day, until I walked into my local grocery purveyor on the 14th and espied shelves of 50% off heart-shaped chocolate boxes), and the fact that this notebook obviously isn’t the right notebook for me, I’d like to give this notebook away to someone who might better appreciate it. The first page was used for the writing sample, but otherwise it’s in good shape.

The rules:

  1. Because I am footing the bill and not feeling expansively dollartastic this month, I’m going to limit this giveaway to the U.S. only. Just leave one comment on this post advising that you’d give this poor notebook a good home any time between now and Monday, February 24th 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time.
  2. One winner will be picked at random from the comments section of this post. Only one comment per person! Comments in excess of one shall be deleted. The comments will be numbered in the order they are received, i.e. the first comment is #1, the second #2, and so on. I will hand-number the entries in Photoshop because apparently that’s how I roll. The Random Integer Generator at random.org will be used to pick the number of the winner.
  3. I’ll post the contest winner on Tuesday, February 25th. Winner will have one week to email me. There’s a link to my email at the top of the right sidebar.

In the meantime, if you’re interested in a brand new Dialogue Quotes Soft Notebook of your own, you can get them from Grandluxe right here on Amazon.

Actions

Information

23 responses

16 02 2014
PilotG2.38

Looks good.

16 02 2014
Pam M

I like the soft cover and the coloo

16 02 2014
lostinmist

I want it!

16 02 2014
Janel

I like to use softcover notebooks around my house, where they won’t get too abused. Love the quote on the cover!

16 02 2014
Angela

I’ve been wanting to use a softcover notebook for a long time!

16 02 2014
Art Toys

I promise I would give this notebook a happy home! :0)

16 02 2014
dietrich (@khamsin64)

I think that I and my many pens would find delight in this soft-cover notebook so shamelessly red. Who could resist

16 02 2014
Rose Wang

It’d be nice to have such a nice notebook :)

16 02 2014
Nuruddeen Lewis

There’s always a need for good notebooks in my home.

16 02 2014
webster1955

I like a soft cover on a notebook that I take in my purse. Slips nicely in the side pocket, and comes in handy when I need to jot down an idea for … whatever.

17 02 2014
Brian Excarnate

But what is the perfect ink to complement it?

17 02 2014
Lau Velazquez

Me! Pick me!

17 02 2014
lenaldo

Decent notebook with a nice cover. Could do a good use of it.

17 02 2014
Erica Y

I regard valentine’s day as “the day before chocolate goes on sale.” Best few days of the month in my opinion.

The notebooks is cute! It’s cover looks really smooth o_o

17 02 2014
blanketknows

Cool notebook! I love the color.

17 02 2014
druseth

It sure looks classy…I’ll take it!

18 02 2014
TB

That notebook is soooooo awesome, I’d pay for the shipping to me (eu) if you accept my application.
(I’ll completely understand if you don’t though).

18 02 2014
Dillon Prochnicki

very nice

18 02 2014
Mari

It is the responsibility of any write-thinking person to offer a good notebook a home. Allowances can be made for notebooks that are less than perfect; for that, we have pencils.

19 02 2014
Shirley Furby

Perhaps the beautiful red will stir my creative processes as I deal with some painful issues.

19 02 2014
carolynec

Oh, me me me, please, o forces of random. I could use a notebook that’s wiser than I am.

22 02 2014
Dan

Red is good. Thanks!

16 03 2014
Dialogue A5 Lined Notebook – Fuchsia Pink | No Pen Intended

[…] plain Dialogue is a lot like the Quotes Dialogue, only instead of having a quote embossed in the cover you have the imprint of the elastic digging […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

