ZPIII Zait Jerusalem Olive Wood Ballpoint Pen

11 02 2014
"ffv" That is the caption my cat wrote by stepping on the keyboard as I uploaded this sample. I've decided to honor her literary genius and leave that caption

“ffv” That is the caption my cat wrote by stepping on the keyboard as I uploaded this sample. I’ve decided to honor her literary genius and leave that caption. She wanted to add a bunch of apostrophes & closing brackets too, but I’ve got to draw a line somewhere

Where to begin when my heart is so full of delight? First, a thanks to Zait Pens for providing this sample to review. They also included an amusing little letter for me, and noted that though this pen comes in a lovely gift box, they sent my sample in a velvet pouch so as not to inundate me with boxes that I don’t want to throw away. THEY’VE BEEN PAYING ATTENTION, YOU GUYS! My heart is a basket of warm fuzzies.

I might need to bust out my top hat for this one.

I might need to bust out my top hat for this one.

I love art deco. I think I may be morally obligated to sign all checks underwriting my speakeasy with this pen. I don’t own a speakeasy. Maybe I should.

Maybe I should have ordered them by size. Well, it's too late now and too much Photoshop would be required to fix it. Pictured: Zait Olive Wood Ballpoint, Zait Olive Wood Fountain Pen, Pelikan M150, Parker Rollerball, Sheaffer Taranis, Pilot Vanishing Point, Pilot Prera, Kaweco Liliput

Maybe I should have ordered them by size. Well, it’s too late now and too much Photoshop would be required to fix it. Pictured: Zait Olive Wood Ballpoint, Zait Olive Wood Fountain Pen, Pelikan M150, Parker Rollerball, Sheaffer Taranis, Pilot Vanishing Point, Pilot Prera, Kaweco Liliput

This pen isn’t necessarily small, but it cultivates a diminutive feel to its appearance—and my love of the compact pen runs deep. In spite of seeming small, it’s as thick as an ordinary pen and has a good weight to it that feels evenly balanced.

The pictures don't even do the inlay justice

The pictures don’t even do the inlay justice

The body is Jerusalem Olive Wood with hand-laid Carob Wood inlay (which apparently comes from a magic tree, because it shimmers different shades of brown as I turn it), with 24kt gold plated finials and black chrome accent band on the nosecone. It’s an attractive package. It makes me happy just looking at it. Can you be in love with a pen design? Perhaps I should see a doctor or registered psychologist.

Clockwise to deploy, counterclockwise to retract.

Clockwise to deploy, counterclockwise to retract.

The deploying mechanism is twist action, with a satisfying feeling of locking in place with the last bit of twist. The refill is accessed by unscrewing at the black chrome band—it comes with a Dayacom brand ballpoint but takes any Parker-style refill.

Tungsten carbide ball! I don't even know what those metals are but they sound cool!

Tungsten carbide ball! I don’t even know what those metals are but they sound cool!

The Dayacom refill (with tungsten carbide ball) is a pretty standard pre-supersmooth type of ballpoint. They’re really great for drawing and shading, and good enough for writing. No blobs, ink comes out steady once you start writing—dark gray, rather than black—it’s not super smooth, but it’s also not choppy or too terribly slow. That said, I’ve already gone out to inquire on what other options are available in the Parker-style refills department. I’m currently testing out a Private Reserve Easy Flow 9000 black refill…it’s not quite a Jetstream, but it is pretty dark (darker than a standard ballpoint) and fairly smooth.

Ledger entry 00143: accounts payable to 200 flappers for expenses listed as follows: 15 gallons of premium Mississippi hooch, assortment of bloomers, 600 renditions of the Lindy Hop....

Ledger entry 00143: accounts payable to 200 flappers for expenses listed as follows: 15 gallons of premium Mississippi hooch, assortment of bloomers, 600 renditions of the Lindy Hop….

I feel a little bit more classy just holding this pen. This model retails for $85.00, including standard international shipping and handling charges plus the box. Quite an eye-catching pen!

ZPIII Handmade Jerusalem Olive Wood Twist-top Ballpoint with Carob Wood Inlay at Zait Pens

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2014
davgar

The best Parker Type refills i have found are the OHTO ceramic tips. They are really great. Smooth, skip And Blog free, and also available very fine.

12 02 2014
davgar

I got mine from cult pens BTW

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

