Bobino Slim Pen – Black

19 07 2013
Does someone need some very gray writing? I have got you covered, champ.

Does someone need some very gray writing? I have got you covered, champ.

The Bobino was a long resisted impulse purchase. All it took was finally finding it for a dollar less at Barnes & Noble than what it went for at the Container Store for the sale to be complete.

If it's nothing else, the Bobino is pretty photogenic

If it’s nothing else, the Bobino is pretty photogenic

Finally, I can prove to you all that I’m not just swayed by a pretty barrel design. Aesthetics must go hand in hand with function, and though the flat flounder design is hip, it’s a pain to hold.

Am I cool yet? Are the hip kids watching?

Am I cool yet? Are the hip kids watching?

I had a very strong feeling going in that actually using the pen would pose a bit of a problem. If I grip it very loosely it’s not as bad, but then my mediocre lines get just that little bit fainter. And it’s hard to triangle-grip a pen that only has 2 sides.

Yeah technically it's a 3-dimensional object but the fatness of my fingers negates the functional existence of the slim side planes

Yeah technically it’s a 3-dimensional object but the fatness of my fingers negates the functional existence of the slim side planes

In a super-smooth world, you gotta hit me with some serious bells and whistles to get a nod. This ink is merely gray, sometimes doesn’t start, and while it’s not NOT smooth, it doesn’t possess my snobbish high standard for exceptional smoothness.

But wouldn't it look cool attached to this case?

But wouldn’t it look cool attached to this case?

Given that I always have a bag and my bag always has pens, I can’t even imagine attaching this inside a notebook (where, though it wouldn’t be significant, it would still add some bulk). If I have a notebook that needs a low profile pen on hand, the Tombow OnBook does a much better job. Emergency pen for a checkbook? Maybe, if unlike me your checkbook actually leaves the house with you. Emergency school pen? You’d be better off paying extra attention in class, or begging a pen off someone else. Even if it’s a Bic Stic or a G2, those are still suitably pen shaped.

The Bobino looks neat, but ultimately it’s just a gimmick.

But if for some reason you want it, scour your local Barnes & Noble. Otherwise, price ascending, you’ll have to hit up the Container Store or Amazon, where the price is even less worth it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

