New Premium Line of TUL Pens from OfficeMax — and GIVEAWAY

3 12 2012
Four for one special!!

Four for one special!!

This review would have been brought to you sooner, but someone decided to make vanish my original sample package. Whoever you are, I hope you weren’t expecting pens in that box. I hope whenever you so much as look at a pen you are filled with an unending sense of guilt that haunts you all your days.

Given that it's the premium line, I would have put them IN a line, but that just didn't fit nicely in a picture

ADMIT YOUR GUILT OR BE CURSED FOREVER, MYSTERY THIEF

So, I too was contacted by OfficeMax to see if I’d be interesting in taking their new premium line of pens for a whirl. As always, I am thrilled for the opportunity to test some new pens. Also, something about a giveaway? We’ll come back to that.

From top to bottom: marker pen, rollerball, gel pen, ballpoint

From top to bottom: marker pen, rollerball, gel pen, ballpoint

I like the general design of this TUL line (confession: I am not at all acquainted with the previous line so I can’t really compare the two). These pens don’t try too hard; they adhere to basic, minimalist designs that stick to a general theme while giving each pen a unique look.

The ovals are another good element

The ovals are another good element

Design-wise, the gel pen is my favorite. I like the long grip, and the color accents are just enough to let you know what the ink color is while not detracting from the simple, stolid office theme. The capped pens (marker and rollerball) have hard plastic that I’m afraid might be prone to crack over time (similar to the Platinum Preppy). The ballpoint would be better with a longer grip section, like the gel pen, but I’ll survive.

Here's where all the important parts come in.

Here’s where all the important parts come in.

The marker pen is smooth, and the only bleedthrough I had was on the drawing portion. The rollerball was a little inconsistent (or character-filled, if you prefer), and was probably my least favorite of the bunch just due to that and the occasional odd sensation of the ball rolling not quite properly. If I’m going to have character-filled lines, I prefer to have them coming from a fountain pen, when I can have whatever color ink I want. The gel pen was smooth, bright, and consistent, all good. But my favorite, by and far, was the ballpoint pen. It was dark and smooth to the point that it took me completely by surprise. I think I’ve finally found a pen that performs close enough to a Jetstream that I can keep on my desk, but not be too distraught if the pen walks away.

If I ran an office, I'd order them

If I ran an office, I’d order them

Suggested retail prices range from $1.99 (single pens) to $20.99 (12-pack). Not bad at all.

TUL Marker Pen from OfficeMax

TUL Rollerball Pen from OfficeMax

TUL Gel Pen from OfficeMax

TUL Ballpoint Pen from OfficeMax

******************************

THE GIVEAWAY RULES!

******************************

Now for the part you’ve been looking forward to: the giveaway! OfficeMax is generously providing a sample set directly to one lucky reader here. Your rules as follows:

  1. To enter, just leave one comment on this post any time between now and Monday, December 10th 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time. Sadly, this contest is only open to U.S. residents.
  2. One winner will be picked at random from the comments section of this post. Make any kind of comment—but only one comment! Comments in excess of one shall be deleted. The comments will be numbered in the order they are received, i.e. the first comment is #1, the second #2, and so on. Because my blog doesn’t seem to number the comments on its own yet, and I STILL don’t have time/the willpower to fix it, I will probably just hand-number all the entries in Photoshop like I did here because this is the kind of solution that sane people come up with. The Random Integer Generator at random.org will be used to pick the number of the winner.
  3. I’ll post the contest winner on Tuesday, December 11th. Winners will have one week to email me. There’s a link to my email at the top of the right sidebar. I’ll forward your info to OfficeMax so they can send you your pens!

Good luck, and thanks again to OfficeMax!

Disclaimer: I received the TUL products mentioned in this post from OfficeMax in order to facilitate my review. The items featured in this giveaway are also provided by OfficeMax and will be sent to the winner directly. Opinions expressed in this post are 100% my own. I have not been compensated for this post in any other way.

Actions

Information

27 responses

3 12 2012
Karen Y.

I would love to try all of these out!
Thanks a lot for this giveaway!

3 12 2012
David Peterson

I would like to be a randomly-chosen winner.

3 12 2012
Cary L. Tyler (@dothgrin)

I have seen a lot of buzz on these pens lately! I’m in!

4 12 2012
Wolfy

This sounds like a great product.

4 12 2012
mhjanine

OfficeMax has definitely been featuring the TUL line lately. I keep hoping to try the products personally :)

4 12 2012
Erica Y.

I want to try the pens, especially the marker pen!!

4 12 2012
Heather W

I’ve had the chance to use the Tul gel pen @ work, and like its consistency, easy-to-use clip and reliability of ink flow. I’d be interested to try the marker pen!

4 12 2012
Brittany F

Shiny!

4 12 2012
Kimberly

I’ve had the Tul gell pens before but they always seem to disappear, so I need more. Hope I win!

4 12 2012
Excarnate

I have nothing apropos to add to the review, but adding ‘feed’ after the base URL gives me an RSS feed to use with the nice Firefox plugin Skim so I never miss a review.

4 12 2012
HH

I’ve used these lens and love them!!

-H

4 12 2012
ideaista1

Would you maybe include in your reviews something about refills? I am paring everything down in life to try to reduce/reuse etc, and don’t want any more disposable stuff — like another pen with a plastic refill — but would be in the market for a really good gel or marker pen with maybe a metal refill…right now I’m stuck on Noodler’s Ink and maybe Santa will bring me the refillable rollerball. Do the Tul pens refill, and if so, with what? Thanks!

4 12 2012
Alli

Ooh, pretty pens! :) Thanks for the chance to win!

4 12 2012
Inktronics

Pens! I was surprised to see them at Best Buy a while back. It looks like my local BB took most of the stationery related items down to a bare minimum.

4 12 2012
John

Pen me!

4 12 2012
mistyfuji

Pens…can never have enough of them (like chocolate). I keep journals and still send cards & letters…could always use a cool new pen or two. Thanks for hosting.

5 12 2012
Katherine

These pens look awesome. I would love to win the set

5 12 2012
PilotG2.38

Marker pens are taking over my life.

6 12 2012
klio

So glad to see another review :)

I work in an office, where we invested in several boxes of inadequate ballpoint and felt tip pens, which I just can’t seem to coax anyone to steal from my desk. Finding some nice pens for the new year would be…nice.

7 12 2012
bizmiard

Comment! Nice review, while I definitely prefer my fountain pens I certainly don’t mind some variety! Hmm and I like the rollerball I have too.. *thinks to self*

8 12 2012
Penthusiasm! - Tiger Pens Blog

[...] No Pen Intended reviews and gives away samples of the new premium line of TUL pens. [...]

8 12 2012
Luke

These look really nice.

8 12 2012
Jeremy Bryant (@JeremyBryant)

Being a fellow lefty, the TUL has been my favorite so far, but have only used the gel. I’m a new follower, and am looking forward to future posts. Thanks for the contest.

10 12 2012
Pensive

Great giveaway!

10 12 2012
GSQ

Nice giveaway! Hope I win!

10 12 2012
A. Rivera

They look great. Would love to try them out.

Best, and keep on blogging.

11 12 2012
TUL Pen Giveaway WINNER! « No Pen Intended

[...] everyone who entered this TUL Pen giveaway! As in giveaways past, I have not had the time to devote to figuring out how to have [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

