Ink Drop Soup: The Pilot Prera-Plumix Switcheroo

20 10 2012

This recipe calls for one Pilot Prera and one Pilot Plumix

Here’s a few quick pictures for those of you curious about swapping out the nib of your Pilot Prera for the lovely italic nib on the Pilot Plumix. Possibly you want to make your handwriting fancier or maybe you dropped the nib on a hard tile floor; whatever the reason, here’s how I did it.

I recommend you do this with pens devoid of ink

I started with the Prera for this demonstration simply because it was closer to the camera when I started taking pictures. If you haven’t done this before, maybe start on the far cheaper Plumix (or Pilot Penmanship, if you’re looking to swap on an extra fine nib); the motion is the same. Hold the barrel in one hand. Hold the nib and feed with the other (I prefer putting my thumb under the feed and my index finger on top of the nib). Slowly pull the nib and feed out, and perhaps try gently twisting the barrel as you do so if it seems stiff. The nib and feed should come out, and you’re halfway done. If you started with the Plumix, keep the nib on hand and set the rest of the pen to the side.

Same as before

Take the second pen, and do the same thing to get the feed and nib out. Though I swap the nibs, I like to keep the feeds with their original pen, but that’s probably not necessary.

Now for the magic

Take the feed you want to put in the Prera and the nib you want to be on the Prera. Put the nib on top of the feed; the feed is notched on the top and sides in such a way that you’ll know when it’s on where it should be.

And back in it goes, voilà

Hold the nib and feed together in one hand, the barrel in the other, and slide them together until they stop. From what I can tell, there’s no particular way the feed and nib have to line up with the barrel, so there’s no big worry. If you’ve done this all correctly, you should have a Pilot Prera with an italic nib. If you’ve done this incorrectly, I absolve myself of all responsibility.

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 11 2012
Stuart Hazley

This will be really helpful. Very detailed, but done in a way that is easy to understand.

3 11 2012
YC

I did this with my Prera and Penmanship. It’s a bit of a rags to riches feel for the pen bodies. :)

5 12 2012
Ted A

I moved it to my new Metropolitan, then moved the Metro M nib to my 78g because it wasn’t behaving well. And now everything is super

3 08 2013
Carnival of Pen, Pencil, and Paper for December 2012OfficeSupplyGeek

[…] No Pen Intended presents Ink Drop Soup: The Pilot Prera-Plumix Switcheroo Posted at No Pen Intended. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

