Pilot AirBlanc Mechanical Pencil – 0.3 mm – Green

21 09 2012

I DON’T REALLY KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT MECHANICAL PENCILS I’M SO SORRY

A pencil is a pencil is a pencil. As far as I can tell, they’re all going to work about the same when it comes to standard mechanical pencils. There are rare, exceptional cases, but for the most part the pencil will be judged on aesthetics and comfort, with writing sample factoring in as a strong WHATEVER. But I’m not a pencil aficionado, so maybe I’m just missing something.

When a pen doesn’t write, it’s probably crappy ink. When a pencil doesn’t write, it’s probably out of lead.

The AirBlanc is a peaceful-looking pencil. Very fresh. Very springtime. The kind of pencil a clucking rabbit might hatch. All that green, plus the translucent-pearlescent upper casing…just lovely. The clip especially is a nice piece of design work.

Try to act like that isn’t neat. YOU CAN’T

Unfortunately, I don’t have a heat chamber where I can test the alleged cooling properties of the grip, and the typically sweltering Southern weather in these parts has begun its autumnal temperature descent. I will assume that if it’s hot enough for me to desire a specially aerated grip, it will be too hot for me to want to do any writing.

Though JetPens assures me that I do have a constant hothand problem that this pencil will fix.

As for writing, well, it writes. What else can I say?

HOORAY IT WRITES!

The lead it comes with sufficiently transfers itself onto the paper when applied. Nothing particularly phenomenal, nothing problematic presenting when used. Maybe one day I’ll learn pencil nuance.

Until then I’ll just keep buying pencils and probably underappreciating them

All in all, a neat little pencil. Be sure to keep it in mind when your favorite springtime gift excuse holiday rolls around.

Thanks to JetPens for providing this sample!

Pilot AirBlanc Mechanical Pencil – 0.3 mm – Green at JetPens

Actions

Information

7 responses

21 09 2012
G2Uni38

The Kuru Toga has ruined me for all other mechanical pencils.

19 10 2012
No Pen Intended

It’s a beautiful curse. I look at all the rest and think, “here is something that spits out lead and isn’t magical, sigh.”

21 09 2012
ideaista1

One thing I noticed the other evening with a mechanical pencil: when the lead has “run out,” otherwise known as the gripper thingie that holds it to advance or retreat, some pencils waste more lead than others. The piece that came out of the one I was using recently looked to be about 20% of the total length of the lead…others waste less. Now that I have noticed this, I am going to keep track of which of them wastes least, and keep using that one. (I like them because I’m tired of throw-away, disposable stuff…)

19 10 2012
No Pen Intended

I’ve started to notice that phenomenon too, especially on my Pilot Color Eno mechanical pencils…the lead is so soft and breakable…and pieces seem to be falling out all the time! :T

21 09 2012
ideaista1

oops, meant to say that running out is when the gripper thingie won’t hold the lead anymore and the lead falls out.

21 09 2012
Monday Grab Bag of Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

[...] Fountain Pens / Writing. BBC News – The man who turned his home into a public library Do you plan your day? :: Rhodia Drive Pilot AirBlanc Mechanical Pencil – 0.3 mm – Green [...]

28 09 2012
Luxury Pencils and Pencil Sets | Pencil-sketching - Pencil Sketching Techniques

[...] Pilot AirBlanc Mechanical Pencil – 0.3 mm – Green Related posts: [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

