Pilot Petit 1+2+3 Mini Pens

9 07 2011

I see great promise in these pens!

Another exciting sample package of complimentary goodies arrived in my mailbox recently from Jetpens! :D (this little face is obviously shorthand for “one thousand thanks unto JetPens”) I would never have guessed a few years ago how exciting a white Jiffylite bubble envelope could be.

The Pilot Petit is back, and true to cliche it's better than ever

I was pretty bummed when I saw that the old Pilot Petit1 was being discontinued. It wasn’t the best fountain pen; at the time I found the nib to be a bit too wet of a writer for my tastes, but I really liked the principle of the thing. Luckily, I already owned about six Pilot Petit1 pens, and a whole bevy of ink cartridges to go with them.

So naturally I needed more Pilot Petits when it burst back onto the scene. I always wondered what the “1” in the name was about; seems like Pilot was planning this product expansion all along (or at least, they can pretend that’s what went down).  You’ve got the Pilot Petit1, a fountain pen just like the original; the Pilot Petit2, a sign pen/marker pen (for very small signs, I presume); and the Pilot Petit3, a fude/brush pen.

Note the clear underbelly on the fountain pen; a thoughtful touch that lets you see just as easily as you would with the brush and marker pen exactly what color you have loaded.

We’ll stick to numerical order, for sanity’s sake, and start with the Pilot Petit1.

Hey there old friend!

I don’t know if this is just a variation in quality control or what, but the new Pilot Petit1 seems to actually be a fine nib this time, which is great considering that’s what it’s branded as. Maybe it’s just the one I got, I don’t know, but if the new Pilot Petit1 models really are true fine nibs, that’s great news for the future of these pens when drawing (and writing on multiple types of paper; finer nibs tend to fuzz and bleed less).

Why stop at one round of drawings when I can continue directly overboard with two?

I can’t really see a difference in the nibs, but I felt like the new Pilot Petit1 was better. If anyone knows why this might be, please let me know. Otherwise I assume it’s just wizardry and penmagic.

To the left, an old Pilot Petit1 color-coded to the nines, lest you forget what color originally came in the pen. To the right, the new Pilot Petit1, colored only by the ink within.

The entire body of the new Pilot Petit1 is the same translucent color (mine is purple), including the clip and the cap, in contrast to the old Pilot Petit1 which had a clear cap instead. Another minor difference is that the body of the new Pilot Petits have four very small bumps around the end of the pen, so the cap clips on when you post it instead of just being pushed onto the end until it goes no further.

The sign pen has a clear cap and a translucent clip and body, making it easy to see the marker tip's color

I don’t really do much work with signs or markers. And this marker tip is really a bit too small to be making actual signs. I did test it on some small, glossy, sign-like paper:

The theme was "Why am I trying to get away with NOT having obscene amounts of writing/drawing samples?"

What I’m starting to see is the potential for these three pens to work together in an artistic capacity. Use the Petit1 for doing fine, detailed work, as well as sketching out guidelines and such, then use the Petit2 for coloring in larger areas, making thicker lines, etc. And then use the Petit3 for fun and profit.

Pilot Petit pens 2 & 3 seen here in the wild, sizing one another up before battle(/mating; the rituals of pens are unclear)

Finally, the Fude/brush pen. This is the only compact brush pen I have, certainly the only one I know of, and undoubtedly the only one clocking in at anything less than prohibitively expensive. Coupled with the ability to choose between various ink colors/refill/change ink colors without having to buy a new pen, I think the Pilot Petit3 stands out as a very fun intro option to brush pens. Line variation was great, and the only complaint I have is that I find the solid colored clip to be a little gauche. Maybe do a clear clip instead? It just doesn’t match the rest of the set, or even the rest of its own body.

Pilot may come out with some crappy products, but they make up for it with hits like these.

Pilot’s done a good job improving upon the Pilot Petit. Care was taken with the details—like adding tiny bumps so the cap would click securely when posting, or making the underside of the fountain pen nib out of clear plastic so you could easily see the ink color—and it’s paid off. My hope is that they’ll come out with more ink colors (at least all the ink colors they had with the original Pilot Petit1; several of my favorites are missing), more body colors (currently the only body colors available are in the theme of girlsplosion springtime pastel bonanza), and perhaps even more models (like, say, a Pilot Petit4 rollerball? Petit5 highlighter??).

Thanks again to Brad and JetPens for these samples!

 
Pilot Petit1 Mini Fountain Pen – Clear Violet Body at JetPens
Pilot Petit2 Mini Marker Pen – Clear Violet Body at JetPens
Pilot Petit3 Mini Brush Pen – Clear Violet Body at JetPens
Pilot Petit Pen Refill Cartridge – Clear Blue – Set of 3 at JetPens

Actions

Information

12 responses

9 07 2011
Peninkcillin

Great review! I can’t wait to get these 3 variations. The only nit I can pick with your review is that the background used for the photos is a bit distracting. Otherwise, great job, very detailed and I love your sketches.

9 07 2011
No Pen Intended

Thanks :) heh yeah, I just wasn’t feeling the concrete tabletop I had available when I was taking the pictures…this was probably not the next best thing, but I went with it anyway

9 07 2011
Pilot Petit 1+2+3 Mini Pens « No Pen Intended | Pen Portal

[…] post:  Pilot Petit 1+2+3 Mini Pens « No Pen Intended Tags: brush, clear, digital-pen, fountain, note-the-clear, numerical-order, pen, portal, […]

11 07 2011
penemuel

I was similarly disappointed when I heard the Petit 1 was being discontinued, and SO happy when I heard it was coming back. I absolutely love this line of pens. I’m a little disappointed that there seem to be fewer colours of ink available, but super happy that there are now purple bodies. I grabbed up one of each as soon as I could. :D I love the sketches you did with each type – good way to illustrate their properties. And isn’t that transparent section/nib underside awesome?

19 07 2011
Speedmaster

Not sure how I missed this post! ;-)

Linking to it now.

19 07 2011
A Few Random Morning Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

[…] Pilot Petit 1 2 3 Mini Pens […]

25 07 2011
Pilot Petit Series of Pens | OfficeSupplyGeek

[…] I almost forgot to mention that over at the No Pen Intended blog, they did a great review of this series as well, with lots of great pictures and art […]

29 07 2011
Pentel Vicuna Super Smooth 2 Color 0.7 mm Ballpoint Multi Pen + 0.5 mm Pencil – Sky Blue Body « No Pen Intended

[…] sent me. Poor thing got overshadowed by my excitement over the Jetstream alpha gel grip and the new Pilot Petit series. Sky blue is a great color, just not as exciting as electric purple or epileptic […]

10 03 2012
blobfish

Nice review! Do the new Petit refills fit the old Petit1 pen?

30 08 2012
The X-Pen +prototype+ « No Pen Intended

[…] carry convenience. Other notable pens that activate this joyous whimsy include the Kaweco Liliput, the Pilot Petit1, the E+M Workman Pocket Clutch lead holder, the Hi-Tec-C Slim Knock—but this is the first […]

15 11 2012
oberon123456

What is the fude/brush made of?

7 11 2014
David Backus

I have purchase the pilot drawing pen – Black Ink – 0.05mm
from homareshop.com which is very good in quality. This pen is in sky-blue color. I suggest you to everyone we should buy this pen to improve handwriting too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

