Why I Can’t Review the Pelikan Griffix

6 07 2011

About a month ago, I came across and gleefully purchased what was, according to the packaging, a Pelikan Griffix Left Handed Kid’s Fountain Pen. The body of the fountain pen is indeed left-handed; the smiley-face is upright when held in the left hand, the grip indentations are leftward-oriented…but the nib is NOT a left-handed nib. I have a Pelikan Pelikano in both left- and right-handed models, so comparison was easy.

From Left to Right: Pelikan Pelikano Left-Handed Fountain Pen, Pelikan Griffix, Pelikan Pelikano Fine Right-Handed Fountain Pen

Do I even need to say anything? Look at the nibs. Which two look alike?

I tried emailing Pelikan as soon as I realized there was a problem, explaining the nib situation, asking if there was anything that could be done to rectify this egregious display of poor quality control, but I still haven’t heard back from them.

From Left to Right: Pelikan Pelikano Left-Handed Fountain Pen, Pelikan Griffix, Pelikan Pelikano Fine Right-Handed Fountain Pen

Do you see that nib? Not only is it the wrong handedness, but it is outrageously misaligned.

Were they even trying?

Sure, this is a low-end pen. But this is not the first time I’ve run into poor quality control in Pelikan’s basic pens (my left-handed Pelikano also had a misaligned nib). Why am I ever going to want to gamble my money on a more expensive Pelikan pen when I’ve had such poor experiences with their entry pens? There are plenty other brands whose inexpensive-end fountain pens are already pretty top notch; those are the brands that, down the line, I’m going to be willing to shell out the big bucks for.

Maybe one day, if I actually get a left-handed Pelikan Griffix fountain pen (doubtful, since I surely won’t be wasting my money on another one), then I’ll happily review it.

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 07 2011
Economy Pens

Ouch. That IS pretty bad. I’ve been having some negative experiences with some Lamy nibs, too, but they are well known for being hit-or-miss. Let us know if/when you hear back from Pelikan.

11 07 2011
Erin

Drat! When I read your dissatisfaction with Pelikano, “but this is not the first time I’ve run into poor quality control in Pelikan’s basic pens (my left-handed Pelikano also had a misaligned nib). “, I hope that won’t be true in the one I just had mailed to my sister for her birthday. The misaligned nib on the Griffin is pretty bad. I’ll be anxious to hear what happens next in your Pelikan odyssey.

10 08 2011
Griffix 3 Ink Writer – Right Handed « No Pen Intended

[...] was very disappointed when quality control issues kept me from being able to accurately review the Pelikan Griffix 4 Fountain Pen, so I’m very excited to have picked up a Griffix Step 3, which is not as complicated and thus [...]

9 12 2011
Sheaffer VFM Matte Black Medium Point Fountain Pen « No Pen Intended

[...] have been dissatisfied with the low-cost fountain pen options from some other brands; they may have great high-end products, but when the entry-level options are so shoddy, why would I [...]

3 04 2012
Ada

Hi. Read this entry a while ago (like several months ago) and yesterday I ran into the same “problem” with a new Pelikano Junior. It wrote scratchy and made a squeaky noise. The problem I found is that the nib wasn’t inserted onto the feed right. So what I did was that I pulled the nib out (quite easy to do – place nib upside down against a hard surface and pull!) and reinserted it, after a few pushes to make it stands right the nib writes fine! Just like all the Pelikano / Junior / L65 etc do.

3 04 2012
Ada

You complained about the nib not being a L nib – how could you know without pulling out the nib for a look as the writing is hidden under the hood? Just went to read the reviews you wrote about the Blue Pelikano having misaligned tines – again I think it could have been solved with a bit of tugging and pushing to get the nib sits flat on the feed – no grinding should have been needed!! One more thing – the green pelikano – I dunno if it is possible outside Germany (or EU for that matter) but you could have bought a Left Handed Pelikano and a separate F nib and swap it in. Or asked your seller to swap it for you. OK I have written enough about Pelikanos on your blog for the day I think!! TTYL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

