Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.5 mm – Basic Series – Black

15 04 2011

No words. Only ink. ...which makes words.

I realized yesterday that, as much as I make mention of how much I love Uni-ball’s Jetstream line of pens, I haven’t actually reviewed some of my favorite Jetstream pens (I’ve only reviewed the Jetstream color ink series blue-black thoroughly). Up until now, you have had to trust only my declarations of love without any evidence or overly-closeup pictures of pens. Let’s change that.

There it is, kids. The modern aesthetic. The perfect blend of fun and functionality. The pen that has been writing through your dreams, and into your heart.

WARNING: do not actually use a Jetstream pen to literally write into your heart. You may experience slight discomfort or death.

The design–oh boy. I love the design of this pen. I love the combination of curves, the swooping lines, the white-black-clear with metallic baby-grey-blue accents. The way this pen looks is due to the conscious effort of someone(s), somewhere(s), deciding that this pen should be more than just a pointy cylinder with a clip on the end. And I appreciate that. I think the effort of design really shines through on this pen, so, whoever you are that made this model of Jetstream look the way it does, thank you. I love it.

So fine, so smooth....one day, Casanova will be referred to as "the Jetstream of human beings."

Writing–compared to the larger nib sizes, the 0.5mm isn’t AS smooth–meaning that, instead of writing as smooth as liquid melted butter it writes as smooth as soft-but-not-totally-melted-yet butter. This is just an observation from having used the 0.5mm, 0.7mm, and 1.0mm Jetstreams. Bigger nib rolls a little more smoothly, but can also be a bit messier. But look, we’re reviewing the 0.5mm here so enough about those other nibs.

The amount of pressure required to make a line with this pen–and not just a line, but a good, dark line–is practically none. Writing is much more relaxing when you don’t have to grasp the pen as though for dear life and try to rip through the other side of the page from bearing down so hard. The ink flows, the pen glides, your hand can relax and still make words happen on the page.

The ink also dries very fast, or at least, does not leave wet blobs anywhere. I’ve had other ballpoint pens that would leave my hand spotted with ink after a writing session of dragging my hand across the page, but never with the Jetstream. The ink gets on the page and it stays there. Even trying to deliberately smudge a line immediately after making it, I only got a tiny bit to give the weensiest smudge. It’s barely even noticeable. THIS is what is ideal for lefties. I want a pen whose ink is set in stone within a second of putting it on the page. Jetstreams never made this promise, but it’s certainly what they deliver.

I believe the ink has some other fantastic properties to it–waterproof, fadeproof, some other fun stuff like that. Even if it didn’t, you already have a fantastic pen here. Everyone should own a Jetstream. Every office should stock Jetstream pens (instead of those awful Pilot G-2s, seeing how they are equivalent in price on the corporate supply website my office uses). Every ballpoint pen should be as good as this.

I dont think there is a better ballpoint pen. Certainly not one that can perform better.

Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.5 mm – Basic Series – Black at JetPens

Actions

Information

19 responses

16 04 2011
Economy Pens

I couldn’t agree more with the details of your review. The Jetstream Sport is incredible in nearly every respect. I like to put the .5 mm refill in the black, capped version that is available at many office supply stores, too. The 3-color multi pen is also great. I use it for homework and editing…

Excellent post, as usual!

17 04 2011
Robert M.

Your sketches and reviews are very interesting and enjoyable.

I agree with you for the most part on the Jetstream. In the past, I’ve sort of poo-pooed the Jetstream for not being completely waterproof. I guess as it turns out, on most paper it IS fundamentally waterproof, but there are some dyes that separate out, giving the text a bit of a halo. I was under the impression that the Zebra Surari fared better in this regard, but after a few recent water tests, it seems that they behave fairly similarly on most paper. They’re both far more water-resistant than my Hi-Tec-Cs and Sliccis, but not as waterproof as my Signo DXs (which look pretty much unaffected after a soak and rinse).

They are ballpoints and so I’ve found that they sometimes skip when starting like ballpoints and [rarely] glob ink or streak like ballpoints, but for the most part, the 0.5mm Jetstreams are pretty good, and a fair bit cleaner overall than the Suraris or the slightly larger Acroballs and Vicunas. This is especially the case if you have very small handwriting, which really emphasizes the limitations of thicker ballpoint inks.

20 04 2011
Jen

I am sitting her with a Jetstream on my desk as I type, one of the lovely 1.0mm size and I agree with you. For a ballpoint pen it writes very smoothly. In fact, when I bought it I mistakenly believed it was a roller ball (which I prefer to ballpoints) but was pleasantly surprised when I realized it was a ballpoint pen. I write rather big too so I love the 1.0mm tip.

20 07 2011
Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen – 0.7 mm – Alpha Gel Grip Series – Silver Body « No Pen Intended

[...] won’t dwell on writing performance; I’ve reviewed the Jetstream 0.5mm before, and there isn’t much that differs between the two except that the 0.7mm, being [...]

14 12 2011
Uni-ball Style Fit Mystar 3 Color Multi Pen Body Component – Brown « No Pen Intended

[...] there’s a sturdy metal clip now.  I’m very happy with this model; you can have a Jetstream and a Signo DX in one sharp looking pen ….AT THE SAME TIME! The only thing missing is a Kuru [...]

3 03 2012
Sharpie Liquid Pencil « No Pen Intended

[...] new body colors is something you should save for when you already have a solid product. Like the Jetstream. Uni-ball can roll out every color and style of body from one end of the visual light spectrum all [...]

13 04 2012
Pilot Acroball Smooth Writing Ballpoint Pen – 0.7 mm – Soft Blue Body – Black Ink « No Pen Intended

[...] have another upstart to challenge the throne of The Realm of Dark & Smooth, currently ruled by King Jetstream (attended by a noble court of The Earl of Vicuna, Lord Surari, The Duchess of Write Dudes Super [...]

2 05 2012
Pentel RSVP Ballpoint Pen Fine Point – Black Ink and Blue Ink « No Pen Intended

[...] have quite the top-notch office pen. I daresay it could even put up a fair fight against a Jetstream, especially if such a RSVP-Vicuna hybrid clocked in at a cheaper price. All aboard the nostalgia [...]

17 05 2012
Uni-ball Jetstream Color Series Ballpoint Pens – 0.5mm – Light Blue & Purple « No Pen Intended

[...] not particularly subtle when it comes to my feelings about the Jetstream line of pens. I constantly shoehorn in mentions of them. I rank them somewhere [...]

26 07 2012
Ohto Pieni Wooden Body Mini Needle-Point Ballpoint Pen – 0.5 mm – Yellow Body « No Pen Intended

[...] good, but I have unrealistically high standards for ballpoint pens (thanks a lot, Jetstream). The performance is good, but it isn’t superior. And sometimes the plunger rattles ever so [...]

4 08 2012
Zebra Airfit LT Ballpoint Pen with Push Grip – 0.7 mm – Pearl Green Body – Black Ink « No Pen Intended

[...] this pen body would be thrilling, as would having a deluxe version of the Surari (comparable to the Jetstream, which has quite the snazzy deluxe version). It’s a good pen, but it could be better. AIRFIT [...]

24 10 2012
Dong-A Cronix Ballpoint Pen with Hybrid Ink – 1.0 mm – Black Ink « No Pen Intended

[...] overall the smoothness is satisfactory. The Cronix isn’t going to unseat such kings as the Jetstream or the Vicuna, but it certainly beats out a regular ballpoint [...]

20 12 2012
Pentel Libretto Pen & Pencil Set — and GIVEAWAY! « No Pen Intended

[...] wonder, the Jetstream refill fits in this body. So you can have a fancy all-fine-occasions pen with a delicious Jetstream [...]

3 08 2013
Ink Drop Soup: Category Killers | No Pen Intended

[…] Pen: Uni […]

3 02 2014
Pen Ergonomics « Atramental Otaku

[…] strain.  We have seen numerous similar pen models since mimicking Dr.Grip: Pilot G2, Uniball Jetstream, etc.  When examined however, this study was of only 12  individuals, and the unmeasured factors […]

6 02 2014
Jetstream BLX 1.0mm – Green Black, Blue Black, and Purple Black | No Pen Intended

[…] getting them so I can buy?”) and brought another Jetstream into my life. Would it be like the glorious Jetstream standard, or would it be a crushing disappointment like the […]

11 03 2014
vendingowe

I think the admin of this website is truly working hard in support of his site, since here every data
is quality based stuff.

9 04 2014
The Bolt – Copper | No Pen Intended

[…] dark, it’s smooth; looking at my hand, it’s not 100% smudge resistant, but it’s approaching Jetstream-like […]

29 05 2014
Uni Jetstream Prime 3 Color Ballpoint Multi Pen – 0.7 mm – Navy Body | No Pen Intended

[…] to perform best of the three colors, but that might just be my imagination. Is it as good as a regular Jetstream? Perhaps not on the most microscopic, nitpicky level, but it’s much smoother and more […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

